A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » New Users
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

When is a Table not a Table?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 31st, 2004, 09:04 PM
Hank
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default When is a Table not a Table?

I've inherited a database and I'm trying to reverse-engineer some of the
design to try and understand how it's put together. I've got this
query (below) and while it appears to work fine, it's referencing a
table (?) called qryuseddidholdings. Problem is, there is NO table with
that name. There IS a query with that name, but it's a different query
altogether.

Select tbldid800holdings.did, tbldid800holdings.dateassigned,
qryuseddidholdings.clientname

From tbldid800holdings LEFT JOIN qryuseddidholdings
On tbldid800holdings.did = qryuseddidholdings.did

Order by tbldid800holdings.did


Am I missing something obvious here?

Thanks
  #2  
Old August 31st, 2004, 09:31 PM
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Hank" wrote in message
...
I've inherited a database and I'm trying to reverse-engineer some of the
design to try and understand how it's put together. I've got this
query (below) and while it appears to work fine, it's referencing a
table (?) called qryuseddidholdings. Problem is, there is NO table with
that name. There IS a query with that name, but it's a different query
altogether.

Select tbldid800holdings.did, tbldid800holdings.dateassigned,
qryuseddidholdings.clientname

From tbldid800holdings LEFT JOIN qryuseddidholdings
On tbldid800holdings.did = qryuseddidholdings.did

Order by tbldid800holdings.did


Am I missing something obvious here?


Yes, you're missing the fact that a query can use another query as an
input, not just tables.


--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #3  
Old August 31st, 2004, 09:35 PM
Douglas J. Steele
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

With only one or two really picky exceptions, queries can be used anywhere a
table can.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean that "it's a different query
altogether".

What you've posted is not valid SQL for a query named qryuseddidholdings,
since it includes a reference to qryuseddidholdings, and Access doesn't
allow circular references like that.

--
Doug Steele, Microsoft Access MVP
http://I.Am/DougSteele
(no e-mails, please!)



"Hank" wrote in message
...
I've inherited a database and I'm trying to reverse-engineer some of the
design to try and understand how it's put together. I've got this
query (below) and while it appears to work fine, it's referencing a
table (?) called qryuseddidholdings. Problem is, there is NO table with
that name. There IS a query with that name, but it's a different query
altogether.

Select tbldid800holdings.did, tbldid800holdings.dateassigned,
qryuseddidholdings.clientname

From tbldid800holdings LEFT JOIN qryuseddidholdings
On tbldid800holdings.did = qryuseddidholdings.did

Order by tbldid800holdings.did


Am I missing something obvious here?

Thanks



  #4  
Old August 31st, 2004, 09:38 PM
Hank
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rick Brandt wrote:


Yes, you're missing the fact that a query can use another query as an
input, not just tables.


I'm aware of that, but if I look at the design view of the combo box and
then pull up the Row Source info in Query Builder, it shows the real
table, then the qryuseddidholdings "table" with a relationship. So is
this a "virtual" table in this sense? And if so, how can it have any
data values?

Thanks again.
  #5  
Old August 31st, 2004, 09:55 PM
LeAnne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hank wrote:

I've inherited a database and I'm trying to reverse-engineer some of the
design to try and understand how it's put together. I've got this
query (below) and while it appears to work fine, it's referencing a
table (?) called qryuseddidholdings. Problem is, there is NO table with
that name. There IS a query with that name, but it's a different query
altogether.

Select tbldid800holdings.did, tbldid800holdings.dateassigned,
qryuseddidholdings.clientname
From tbldid800holdings LEFT JOIN qryuseddidholdings On tbldid800holdings.did = qryuseddidholdings.did
Order by tbldid800holdings.did;

Am I missing something obvious here?


Hank, it's perfectly okay to query queries. Just go to the query being
queried in the above query and see which objects (tables or queries)
it's querying (Whew, that was a mouthful!). Or am I misunderstanding
your point? It might help if you clarified what you mean by "It's a
different query entirely."

LeAnne
  #6  
Old August 31st, 2004, 09:58 PM
Hank
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

LeAnne wrote:
it's querying (Whew, that was a mouthful!). Or am I misunderstanding
your point? It might help if you clarified what you mean by "It's a
different query entirely."


Ignore my "it's a different query entirely" statement. Made a mimstake.
However, as I mentioned above, when I look at the query in Query
Builder, it "looks" like a table and has fields. Is this a "virtual"
table? Sorry for my ignorance here.
  #7  
Old August 31st, 2004, 10:15 PM
Rick Brandt
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Hank" wrote in message
...
LeAnne wrote:
it's querying (Whew, that was a mouthful!). Or am I misunderstanding
your point? It might help if you clarified what you mean by "It's a
different query entirely."


Ignore my "it's a different query entirely" statement. Made a mimstake.
However, as I mentioned above, when I look at the query in Query
Builder, it "looks" like a table and has fields. Is this a "virtual"
table? Sorry for my ignorance here.


In query builder a query and a table look the same. A query has fields
with field-names just like a table so I'm not sure why you think they would
not be represented in the same way.


--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com


  #8  
Old September 1st, 2004, 08:50 AM
Reggie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hank, what you've described is that it sounds like you have a combobox and you opened the query
builder from design view. What you are looking at now is an SQL Statement that is being used for
the rowsource of your combobox. If you look through your queries this sql statement will not be
shown in the list of queries in the database window because it is stored behind the scenes. You
could click Save while in the query builder, give it a name then it will be stored as a query in
your application.

The other part of your concern deals with a table and a query being shown joined in the SQL
Statement:Query Builder. You can base a query on one or more tables, one or more queries, or a
combination of tables and saved queries etc.. So what you're seeing in the query builder is the
result of the original designer opening the Query Builder, Clicking View/Show Tables from the main
menu, then selecting the table "tbldid800holdings" from the list and the query "qryuseddidholdings"
from the list. They then joined the table and query on a common field which in your case is
"tbldid800holdings.did = qryuseddidholdings.did ".

Hope this helps!
--
Reggie

----------
"Rick Brandt" wrote in message ...
"Hank" wrote in message
...
LeAnne wrote:
it's querying (Whew, that was a mouthful!). Or am I misunderstanding
your point? It might help if you clarified what you mean by "It's a
different query entirely."


Ignore my "it's a different query entirely" statement. Made a mimstake.
However, as I mentioned above, when I look at the query in Query
Builder, it "looks" like a table and has fields. Is this a "virtual"
table? Sorry for my ignorance here.


In query builder a query and a table look the same. A query has fields
with field-names just like a table so I'm not sure why you think they would
not be represented in the same way.


--
I don't check the Email account attached
to this message. Send instead to...
RBrandt at Hunter dot com




  #9  
Old September 2nd, 2004, 03:24 PM
Hank
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Reggie wrote:
Hank, what you've described is that it sounds like you have a combobox and you opened the query
builder from design view. What you are looking at now is an SQL Statement that is being used for
the rowsource of your combobox. If you look through your queries this sql statement will not be
shown in the list of queries in the database window because it is stored behind the scenes. You
could click Save while in the query builder, give it a name then it will be stored as a query in
your application.

The other part of your concern deals with a table and a query being shown joined in the SQL
Statement:Query Builder. You can base a query on one or more tables, one or more queries, or a
combination of tables and saved queries etc.. So what you're seeing in the query builder is the
result of the original designer opening the Query Builder, Clicking View/Show Tables from the main
menu, then selecting the table "tbldid800holdings" from the list and the query "qryuseddidholdings"
from the list. They then joined the table and query on a common field which in your case is
"tbldid800holdings.did = qryuseddidholdings.did ".

Hope this helps!



Reggie,

Thanks for the explanation! What a learning exercise this was.

Thanks again.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autonumber Ally H. General Discussion 7 August 27th, 2004 04:51 PM
Row source of table referring to same table? Noozer Running & Setting Up Queries 2 August 12th, 2004 08:29 PM
Table Error Message Di New Users 2 June 30th, 2004 07:57 AM
Name not showing ID is René Setting Up & Running Reports 11 June 29th, 2004 01:40 AM
Image Control Table John Gavin General Discussion 3 June 28th, 2004 04:21 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.