A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Application enhancement



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 19th, 2009, 09:08 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
oldblindpew
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 128
Default Application enhancement

I have a split database, front end application/back end data. To further
develop and improve the front-end application, I want to work on copies of
both the front-end and the back end, to avoid disturbing the production
environment.

The development version, being a copy, will look just like the production
version. Any tips on how best to make the test version look different, so as
to lessen the chances of accidentally making changes to the wrong version?
  #2  
Old August 19th, 2009, 09:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
NG[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 59
Default Application enhancement

Hi,

I always have a table tsysParametersBackEnd and a table
tsysParametersFrontEnd. You can create there a record with the field
parName = DatabaseType' and the field parType: ans store there the value
TEST or PROD. In the forms you can set a code in the ON OPEN event like:

strTypeBackEnd = nz(dlookup("parType","tsysParametersBackEnd","parN ame =
'DatabaseType'"),"")
strTypeFrontEnd = nz(dlookup("parType","tsysParametersFrontEnd","par Name =
'DatabaseType'"),"")

if strTypeBackEnd = "TEST" or strTypeFrontEnd = "TEST" then

me.caption = me.caption & " " & strTypeFrontEnd & " connected to " &
strTypeBackEnd

end if

--
Kind regards
Noƫlla


"oldblindpew" wrote:

I have a split database, front end application/back end data. To further
develop and improve the front-end application, I want to work on copies of
both the front-end and the back end, to avoid disturbing the production
environment.

The development version, being a copy, will look just like the production
version. Any tips on how best to make the test version look different, so as
to lessen the chances of accidentally making changes to the wrong version?

  #3  
Old August 19th, 2009, 09:35 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Application enhancement

On Wed, 19 Aug 2009 13:08:03 -0700, oldblindpew
wrote:

I have a split database, front end application/back end data. To further
develop and improve the front-end application, I want to work on copies of
both the front-end and the back end, to avoid disturbing the production
environment.

The development version, being a copy, will look just like the production
version. Any tips on how best to make the test version look different, so as
to lessen the chances of accidentally making changes to the wrong version?


I'll usually put a big bright colored label TEST VERSION on the startup or
switchboard form just for that purpose. You can delete the label or just set
its Visible property to False when you're ready to distribute.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #4  
Old August 19th, 2009, 09:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
PieterLinden via AccessMonster.com
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 307
Default Application enhancement

oldblindpew wrote:
I have a split database, front end application/back end data. To further
develop and improve the front-end application, I want to work on copies of
both the front-end and the back end, to avoid disturbing the production
environment.

The development version, being a copy, will look just like the production
version. Any tips on how best to make the test version look different, so as
to lessen the chances of accidentally making changes to the wrong version?


I would probably do something like changing a background color (something
that's not ugly, but definitely obvious) or show a label that says it's the
test copy. Or you could have a message box pop up when the database opens.
Something as simple as

intReply=MsgBox("You are working on the DEVELOPMENT version of the database.
If this OK?", vbYesNo)

if intReply = vbNo Then

--
Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

  #5  
Old August 19th, 2009, 09:55 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Steve[_77_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,017
Default Application enhancement

One thing to be very aware of .....

Even if you change the name of the front end, it still is linked to the same
backend. If that is all you do and you begin changing data, the data will be
changed in the production backend.

To be safe, you need to change the name of the BE and change its location.
Then link to this backend. Finally, make a copy of the FE and put it in a
different folder.

Steve



"oldblindpew" wrote in message
...
I have a split database, front end application/back end data. To further
develop and improve the front-end application, I want to work on copies of
both the front-end and the back end, to avoid disturbing the production
environment.

The development version, being a copy, will look just like the production
version. Any tips on how best to make the test version look different, so
as
to lessen the chances of accidentally making changes to the wrong version?



  #6  
Old August 19th, 2009, 10:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
oldblindpew
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 128
Default Application enhancement

Thanks for your reply.

Is it just me, or does the Linked Table Manager seem to fall down at this
point? Knowing those links needed checking, I had already discovered the
point you raise, that just saving the front end under a different name does
not change the links to the backend. But I wasted a lot of time earlier
today trying to change the links, because all the Manager wants to do is
refresh the existing links.

There is a check box for "Always prompt for new location", but it doesn't
behave as expected. I bulldozed my way through, somehow, and got the links
changed, but it was a bumpy journey.


"Steve" wrote:

One thing to be very aware of .....

Even if you change the name of the front end, it still is linked to the same
backend. If that is all you do and you begin changing data, the data will be
changed in the production backend.

To be safe, you need to change the name of the BE and change its location.
Then link to this backend. Finally, make a copy of the FE and put it in a
different folder.

Steve



"oldblindpew" wrote in message
...
I have a split database, front end application/back end data. To further
develop and improve the front-end application, I want to work on copies of
both the front-end and the back end, to avoid disturbing the production
environment.

The development version, being a copy, will look just like the production
version. Any tips on how best to make the test version look different, so
as
to lessen the chances of accidentally making changes to the wrong version?




  #7  
Old August 19th, 2009, 10:58 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
oldblindpew
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 128
Default Application enhancement

Thanks. I have in the past used a color change, but the only way I know to
do this is to modify each form, to keep myself constantly aware, whichever
form I had open, that I was in the test version of the application. This
seemed a bit tedious. I like color change, but was looking for a simpler way
of doing it.

What I've done today is to edit the Application Title that appears
constantly in the Title Bar at the top of the screen, by adding the word
"TEST". This was done via the Office Button, then Access Options, Current
Database. Now there is a constant reminder, easily done, and easily
reversible, but it doesn't really reach out and grab your attention.

O.B.P.

"PieterLinden via AccessMonster.com" wrote:

oldblindpew wrote:
I have a split database, front end application/back end data. To further
develop and improve the front-end application, I want to work on copies of
both the front-end and the back end, to avoid disturbing the production
environment.

The development version, being a copy, will look just like the production
version. Any tips on how best to make the test version look different, so as
to lessen the chances of accidentally making changes to the wrong version?


I would probably do something like changing a background color (something
that's not ugly, but definitely obvious) or show a label that says it's the
test copy. Or you could have a message box pop up when the database opens.
Something as simple as

intReply=MsgBox("You are working on the DEVELOPMENT version of the database.
If this OK?", vbYesNo)

if intReply = vbNo Then

--
Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com


  #8  
Old August 19th, 2009, 11:28 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Bernard Peek[_3_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 42
Default Application enhancement

In message ,
oldblindpew writes
Thanks. I have in the past used a color change, but the only way I know to
do this is to modify each form, to keep myself constantly aware, whichever
form I had open, that I was in the test version of the application. This
seemed a bit tedious. I like color change, but was looking for a simpler way
of doing it.


Use VBA to declare a constant and use that when designing you forms.
Then you only need to make one change, the value of your constant, to
recolour every form.



--
Bernard Peek
  #9  
Old August 20th, 2009, 12:09 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Application enhancement

On Wed, 19 Aug 2009 14:43:14 -0700, oldblindpew
wrote:

There is a check box for "Always prompt for new location", but it doesn't
behave as expected. I bulldozed my way through, somehow, and got the links
changed, but it was a bumpy journey.


That can be a pain. I'll often simply delete all the links, use File... Get
External Data... Link, navigate to the test or production backend as
appropriate, select all, and link.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #10  
Old August 20th, 2009, 01:16 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Steve[_77_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,017
Default Application enhancement

The checkbox does not do exactly as it says. When you check it, a dialog
should open where you can browse to a different BE file. You would browse to
the folder and the file which you created as the test BE. Previously I
advised you need to change the name of the BE and change its location then
link to this backend.

Steve


"oldblindpew" wrote in message
...
Thanks for your reply.

Is it just me, or does the Linked Table Manager seem to fall down at this
point? Knowing those links needed checking, I had already discovered the
point you raise, that just saving the front end under a different name
does
not change the links to the backend. But I wasted a lot of time earlier
today trying to change the links, because all the Manager wants to do is
refresh the existing links.

There is a check box for "Always prompt for new location", but it doesn't
behave as expected. I bulldozed my way through, somehow, and got the
links
changed, but it was a bumpy journey.


"Steve" wrote:

One thing to be very aware of .....

Even if you change the name of the front end, it still is linked to the
same
backend. If that is all you do and you begin changing data, the data will
be
changed in the production backend.

To be safe, you need to change the name of the BE and change its
location.
Then link to this backend. Finally, make a copy of the FE and put it in a
different folder.

Steve



"oldblindpew" wrote in message
...
I have a split database, front end application/back end data. To
further
develop and improve the front-end application, I want to work on copies
of
both the front-end and the back end, to avoid disturbing the production
environment.

The development version, being a copy, will look just like the
production
version. Any tips on how best to make the test version look different,
so
as
to lessen the chances of accidentally making changes to the wrong
version?






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.