A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

gathering metadata especially the fields table



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 22nd, 2004, 12:21 AM
Duane Hookom
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You can't query the fields directly with SQL. There are options such as the
Documenter or snippets of code like this page on Allen Browne's web site
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/func-06.html.

--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP
--

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
I managed to unlock all system tables within access.
When querying sysobjects I get an overview of all tables, queries,forms
etc.
within my database.
The only thing I can't manage to do is getting an overview of the fields
used in my tables.
When using Visual case I'm able to extract all metadata including the
fields
.

Can somebody tell me what to do to make system fields queryable within
access?

thanks
Johan




  #2  
Old November 24th, 2004, 09:38 AM
Allen Browne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Johan, from your code window, choose References on the Tools menu, and check
the box beside:
Microsoft DAO 3.6 Library

The library is checked by default in all versions of Access except 2000 and
2002.

More info about references:
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/ser-38.html

--
Allen Browne - Microsoft MVP. Perth, Western Australia.
Tips for Access users - http://allenbrowne.com/tips.html
Reply to group, rather than allenbrowne at mvps dot org.

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
Thanks a lot for the codepage! I copied the function within a new module
but
it causes the following error:
a user defined datatype hasn't been defined

I have the feeling Access doesn't accept the 'Dim db As database'
code-part.


"Duane Hookom" schreef in bericht
...
You can't query the fields directly with SQL. There are options such as

the
Documenter or snippets of code like this page on Allen Browne's web site
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/func-06.html.

--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP
--

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
I managed to unlock all system tables within access.
When querying sysobjects I get an overview of all tables, queries,forms
etc.
within my database.
The only thing I can't manage to do is getting an overview of the
fields
used in my tables.
When using Visual case I'm able to extract all metadata including the
fields
.

Can somebody tell me what to do to make system fields queryable within
access?

thanks
Johan



  #3  
Old November 24th, 2004, 12:09 PM
Allen Browne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes, Johan.

We can't develop all your code for you, but you can concatenate each line
into a string instead of printing to the debug window. Then at the end of
the procedure you can assign the value of the string to the unbound text box
on your form, e.g.:
Forms!Form1!Textbox1 = strMyOutputString

--
Allen Browne - Microsoft MVP. Perth, Western Australia.
Tips for Access users - http://allenbrowne.com/tips.html
Reply to group, rather than allenbrowne at mvps dot org.

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
Ok, now it works within the intermediate window, nice piece of code mr.
Browne!
Next thing I would like to do is get the result into a text field on the
form. I have a text field as input (to choose a table), a button to
execute
the function
to get the result into another text field. Is it possible with a metadata
function to run it at runtime?

Thanks,
Johan

"Johan Koopmans" schreef in bericht
...
Thanks I tried and still doesn't work. Currently I'm looking for a

download
for DAO 3.6, will be back about the issue later
"Allen Browne" schreef in bericht
...
Johan, from your code window, choose References on the Tools menu, and

check
the box beside:
Microsoft DAO 3.6 Library

The library is checked by default in all versions of Access except 2000

and
2002.

More info about references:
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/ser-38.html

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
Thanks a lot for the codepage! I copied the function within a new

module
but
it causes the following error:
a user defined datatype hasn't been defined

I have the feeling Access doesn't accept the 'Dim db As database'
code-part.


"Duane Hookom" schreef in bericht
...
You can't query the fields directly with SQL. There are options such

as
the
Documenter or snippets of code like this page on Allen Browne's web

site
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/func-06.html.

--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP
--

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
I managed to unlock all system tables within access.
When querying sysobjects I get an overview of all tables,

queries,forms
etc.
within my database.
The only thing I can't manage to do is getting an overview of the
fields
used in my tables.
When using Visual case I'm able to extract all metadata including

the
fields
.

Can somebody tell me what to do to make system fields queryable

within
access?

thanks
Johan



  #4  
Old November 28th, 2004, 11:36 PM
Johan Koopmans
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default gathering metadata especially the fields table

I managed to unlock all system tables within access.
When querying sysobjects I get an overview of all tables, queries,forms etc.
within my database.
The only thing I can't manage to do is getting an overview of the fields
used in my tables.
When using Visual case I'm able to extract all metadata including the fields
..

Can somebody tell me what to do to make system fields queryable within
access?

thanks
Johan


  #5  
Old December 1st, 2004, 12:08 AM
Johan Koopmans
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks a lot for the codepage! I copied the function within a new module but
it causes the following error:
a user defined datatype hasn't been defined

I have the feeling Access doesn't accept the 'Dim db As database' code-part.


"Duane Hookom" schreef in bericht
...
You can't query the fields directly with SQL. There are options such as

the
Documenter or snippets of code like this page on Allen Browne's web site
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/func-06.html.

--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP
--

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
I managed to unlock all system tables within access.
When querying sysobjects I get an overview of all tables, queries,forms
etc.
within my database.
The only thing I can't manage to do is getting an overview of the fields
used in my tables.
When using Visual case I'm able to extract all metadata including the
fields
.

Can somebody tell me what to do to make system fields queryable within
access?

thanks
Johan






  #6  
Old December 1st, 2004, 10:34 AM
Johan Koopmans
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks I tried and still doesn't work. Currently I'm looking for a download
for DAO 3.6, will be back about the issue later
"Allen Browne" schreef in bericht
...
Johan, from your code window, choose References on the Tools menu, and

check
the box beside:
Microsoft DAO 3.6 Library

The library is checked by default in all versions of Access except 2000

and
2002.

More info about references:
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/ser-38.html

--
Allen Browne - Microsoft MVP. Perth, Western Australia.
Tips for Access users - http://allenbrowne.com/tips.html
Reply to group, rather than allenbrowne at mvps dot org.

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
Thanks a lot for the codepage! I copied the function within a new module
but
it causes the following error:
a user defined datatype hasn't been defined

I have the feeling Access doesn't accept the 'Dim db As database'
code-part.


"Duane Hookom" schreef in bericht
...
You can't query the fields directly with SQL. There are options such as

the
Documenter or snippets of code like this page on Allen Browne's web

site
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/func-06.html.

--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP
--

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
I managed to unlock all system tables within access.
When querying sysobjects I get an overview of all tables,

queries,forms
etc.
within my database.
The only thing I can't manage to do is getting an overview of the
fields
used in my tables.
When using Visual case I'm able to extract all metadata including the
fields
.

Can somebody tell me what to do to make system fields queryable

within
access?

thanks
Johan





  #7  
Old December 1st, 2004, 10:55 AM
Johan Koopmans
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, I installed DAO 3.6 and referenced it within Access. I have valid proof
DAO 3.6 was succesfull, finally I have database as an object within my
object browser.
But, the code is still not working. I've put the code in a new module called
functions. I reference the code within a text box and have put the function
within the recordsource. Even when running from intermediate window it
generates an error called called sub or function hasn't been defined.

"Johan Koopmans" schreef in bericht
...
Thanks I tried and still doesn't work. Currently I'm looking for a

download
for DAO 3.6, will be back about the issue later
"Allen Browne" schreef in bericht
...
Johan, from your code window, choose References on the Tools menu, and

check
the box beside:
Microsoft DAO 3.6 Library

The library is checked by default in all versions of Access except 2000

and
2002.

More info about references:
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/ser-38.html

--
Allen Browne - Microsoft MVP. Perth, Western Australia.
Tips for Access users - http://allenbrowne.com/tips.html
Reply to group, rather than allenbrowne at mvps dot org.

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
Thanks a lot for the codepage! I copied the function within a new

module
but
it causes the following error:
a user defined datatype hasn't been defined

I have the feeling Access doesn't accept the 'Dim db As database'
code-part.


"Duane Hookom" schreef in bericht
...
You can't query the fields directly with SQL. There are options such

as
the
Documenter or snippets of code like this page on Allen Browne's web

site
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/func-06.html.

--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP
--

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
I managed to unlock all system tables within access.
When querying sysobjects I get an overview of all tables,

queries,forms
etc.
within my database.
The only thing I can't manage to do is getting an overview of the
fields
used in my tables.
When using Visual case I'm able to extract all metadata including

the
fields
.

Can somebody tell me what to do to make system fields queryable

within
access?

thanks
Johan







  #8  
Old December 1st, 2004, 11:06 AM
Johan Koopmans
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok, now it works within the intermediate window, nice piece of code mr.
Browne!
Next thing I would like to do is get the result into a text field on the
form. I have a text field as input (to choose a table), a button to execute
the function
to get the result into another text field. Is it possible with a metadata
function to run it at runtime?

Thanks,
Johan

"Johan Koopmans" schreef in bericht
...
Thanks I tried and still doesn't work. Currently I'm looking for a

download
for DAO 3.6, will be back about the issue later
"Allen Browne" schreef in bericht
...
Johan, from your code window, choose References on the Tools menu, and

check
the box beside:
Microsoft DAO 3.6 Library

The library is checked by default in all versions of Access except 2000

and
2002.

More info about references:
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/ser-38.html

--
Allen Browne - Microsoft MVP. Perth, Western Australia.
Tips for Access users - http://allenbrowne.com/tips.html
Reply to group, rather than allenbrowne at mvps dot org.

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
Thanks a lot for the codepage! I copied the function within a new

module
but
it causes the following error:
a user defined datatype hasn't been defined

I have the feeling Access doesn't accept the 'Dim db As database'
code-part.


"Duane Hookom" schreef in bericht
...
You can't query the fields directly with SQL. There are options such

as
the
Documenter or snippets of code like this page on Allen Browne's web

site
http://members.iinet.net.au/~allenbrowne/func-06.html.

--
Duane Hookom
MS Access MVP
--

"Johan Koopmans" wrote in message
...
I managed to unlock all system tables within access.
When querying sysobjects I get an overview of all tables,

queries,forms
etc.
within my database.
The only thing I can't manage to do is getting an overview of the
fields
used in my tables.
When using Visual case I'm able to extract all metadata including

the
fields
.

Can somebody tell me what to do to make system fields queryable

within
access?

thanks
Johan







 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access 2000, autonumber fields Zyberg74 General Discussion 3 November 17th, 2004 04:24 PM
refreshing field list after adding fields to a table Colorado General Discussion 5 October 28th, 2004 09:36 PM
Automatic filling of fields in table two from table one Jim Kelly Database Design 1 September 27th, 2004 10:16 PM
ComboBox fields to Update record in a table LMB New Users 6 September 20th, 2004 09:27 PM
trying to pull 2 fields from another table into this table E Taylor Database Design 3 May 21st, 2004 06:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.