A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Search record is finding another record when using findfirst



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 23rd, 2006, 12:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Search record is finding another record when using findfirst

Hi,

We have an application in MS Access, i am searching for a record using
below code

if Me.Dirty then Me.Dirty = false

With Me.RecordsetClone

.FindFirst "[DrawingNumber] = """ & Me.DrawingNumberSearch & """"

If .NoMatch Then
MsgBox ("Drawing Number" & Me.DrawingNumberSearch & "is not
available")
Me.DrawingNumberSearch.Value = ""
Else
Me.Bookmark = .Bookmark
Me.DrawingNumberSearch.Value = ""
End If

End With


we have huge data in the database
(around 100000) when i search for 50000 record, it is displaying the
correct data, but when i update it is updating the different record
which shows in navigation bar (Previous, first, next, last).

Anybody can help in this??.This application is in live.

Thanks in advance.

  #2  
Old February 23rd, 2006, 05:25 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Search record is finding another record when using findfirst

Do not trust the navigation bar number to be the same everytime for a given
record.

If the table is indexed and you updated a field in the index it can display
the records in a different sequence.

"laks" wrote:

Hi,

We have an application in MS Access, i am searching for a record using
below code

if Me.Dirty then Me.Dirty = false

With Me.RecordsetClone

.FindFirst "[DrawingNumber] = """ & Me.DrawingNumberSearch & """"

If .NoMatch Then
MsgBox ("Drawing Number" & Me.DrawingNumberSearch & "is not
available")
Me.DrawingNumberSearch.Value = ""
Else
Me.Bookmark = .Bookmark
Me.DrawingNumberSearch.Value = ""
End If

End With


we have huge data in the database
(around 100000) when i search for 50000 record, it is displaying the
correct data, but when i update it is updating the different record
which shows in navigation bar (Previous, first, next, last).

Anybody can help in this??.This application is in live.

Thanks in advance.


  #3  
Old February 24th, 2006, 04:16 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Search record is finding another record when using findfirst

Hi,

It is updating the record which it was showing in the Navigation bar.
I have on the SQL profiler and checked.

Thanks and Regards



KARL DEWEY wrote:
Do not trust the navigation bar number to be the same everytime for a given
record.

If the table is indexed and you updated a field in the index it can display
the records in a different sequence.

"laks" wrote:

Hi,

We have an application in MS Access, i am searching for a record using
below code

if Me.Dirty then Me.Dirty = false

With Me.RecordsetClone

.FindFirst "[DrawingNumber] = """ & Me.DrawingNumberSearch & """"

If .NoMatch Then
MsgBox ("Drawing Number" & Me.DrawingNumberSearch & "is not
available")
Me.DrawingNumberSearch.Value = ""
Else
Me.Bookmark = .Bookmark
Me.DrawingNumberSearch.Value = ""
End If

End With


we have huge data in the database
(around 100000) when i search for 50000 record, it is displaying the
correct data, but when i update it is updating the different record
which shows in navigation bar (Previous, first, next, last).

Anybody can help in this??.This application is in live.

Thanks in advance.



  #4  
Old February 24th, 2006, 04:17 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Search record is finding another record when using findfirst

Hi,

when i tried to update it is updating the wrong record (which it was
showing in the navigation bar)
I have opened the SQL profiler and seen that.

Thanks and Regards

  #5  
Old February 24th, 2006, 04:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Search record is finding another record when using findfirst

The way you are using navigation bar is unknown to me. Is it something other
than a standard Access object?


"laks" wrote:

Hi,

when i tried to update it is updating the wrong record (which it was
showing in the navigation bar)
I have opened the SQL profiler and seen that.

Thanks and Regards


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Next Record If", Mail Merge Issues [email protected] Mailmerge 8 February 8th, 2006 08:11 PM
Press Release - New Search Engine Debuts Features [email protected] Powerpoint 0 December 17th, 2005 12:35 PM
Press Release - New Search Engine Debuts Features [email protected] General Discussion 0 December 17th, 2005 12:28 PM
Access Mail Merge to Word.doc files ? RNUSZ@OKDPS Setting Up & Running Reports 1 May 18th, 2005 06:31 PM
Form Doesn't Go To New Record Steve New Users 15 May 16th, 2004 04:33 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.