A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Linking to record in form view



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 10th, 2010, 07:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
TES
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 33
Default Linking to record in form view

I would like to have a link in one of the columns in my table view that will
take the user to that record displayed in a form view. Is this possible to
do in an existing base?

Thanks.

  #2  
Old February 10th, 2010, 07:48 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Steve[_77_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,017
Default Linking to record in form view

You can create a search on your form that will display a selected record.

Steve



"TES" wrote in message
...
I would like to have a link in one of the columns in my table view that
will
take the user to that record displayed in a form view. Is this possible
to
do in an existing base?

Thanks.



  #3  
Old February 10th, 2010, 10:15 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Stop$teve
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 76
Default Linking to record in form view


"Steve" schreef in bericht ...
You can create a search on your form that will display a selected record.


Good answer $teve...
but
Get lost $teve. Go away... far away....
No-one wants you here... no-one needs you here...

OP look at http://home.tiscali.nl/arracom/whoissteve.html
(Website has been updated and has a new 'look'... we have passed 11.000 pageloads... it's a shame !!)

For those who don't 'agree' with this mail , because $teve was 'helping' with his post...
We warned him a thousand times... Sad, but he is not willing to stop advertising...

He is just toying with these groups... advertising like hell... on and on... for years...
oh yes... and sometimes he answers questions... indeed...
and sometimes good souls here give him credit for that...

== We are totally 'finished' with $teve now...
== Killfile 'StopThisAdvertising' and you won't see these mails....

Arno R


  #4  
Old February 10th, 2010, 10:19 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Linking to record in form view

TES,

Not from table view but it can be done using a form. You can create a form
to look like your table and place a hyperlink on it to open another form,
with something like...

DoCmd.OpenForm "YourFormName"

Tables are meant to just hold the data not interact with it.

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"TES" wrote in message
...
I would like to have a link in one of the columns in my table view that will
take the user to that record displayed in a form view. Is this possible to
do in an existing base?

Thanks.


  #5  
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Tedmi
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 141
Default Linking to record in form view

As Gina says, create a form to query your table and display it in datasheet
or continuous form view. On one of the text boxes of the form (e.g.
LastName), establish a double-click event that executes this code:
DoCmd.OpenForm FormName:="YourFormName", View:=acNormal, OpenArgs:=txtID

Where txtID is the tex box on your datasheet view that contains the unique
identifier of the row on which you clicked.

In the Load event of YourFormaName, insert this code:
If Len(Nz(OpenArgs, "") 0 Then
Me.RecordSet.Clone.FindFirst "[ID]=" & OpenArgs
Me.Bookmark = Me.RecordSet.Clone.Bookmark
End If

Where [ID] is the name of field in the TABLE which is the datasource for the
form.
An alternative method:
DoCmd.OpenForm FormName:="YourFormName", View:=acNormal,
WhereCondition:="[ID]=" & txtID

Then you don't need anything in the Load event of the form.
Differences: With the first method, the user can navigate over the
datasource of the form. In the second, the form is limited to displaying the
one record identified by the value of ID.

"Gina Whipp" wrote in message
...
TES,

Not from table view but it can be done using a form. You can create a
form
to look like your table and place a hyperlink on it to open another form,
with something like...

DoCmd.OpenForm "YourFormName"

Tables are meant to just hold the data not interact with it.

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"TES" wrote in message
...
I would like to have a link in one of the columns in my table view that
will
take the user to that record displayed in a form view. Is this possible
to
do in an existing base?

Thanks.




  #6  
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Tedmi
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 141
Default Linking to record in form view

As Gina says, you need to create a form whose data source is the table in
question. Display the form in datasheet or continuous view. On one of the
fields of the form, establish a double-click event that executes this code:
DoCmd.OpenForm FormName:="YourFormName", View=acNormal,
WhereCondition:="[ID]= & txtID

Where YourFormName is designed to display a single record from your table
(presumably with more detail than displayed in the datasheet view), txtID is
the name of the control holding the unique identifier of the row on which
you clicked, and [ID] is the name of the field in the underlying table that
holds this identifier.

This method will limit the single-record form to the one record identified
by ID. If you would to allow the user to navigate to other records in
single-record view, use this instead:
DoCmd.OpenForm FormName:="YourFormName", View=acNormal, OpenArgs:=txtID

Then in the Load event of YourFormName, execute this code:

If Len(Nz(OpenArgs, "")) 0 Then
Me.Recordset.Clone.FindFirst "[ID]=" & OpenArgs
Me.Recordset.Bookmark = Me.Recordset.Clone.Bookmark
End If
Good luck!

-TedMi

"Gina Whipp" wrote in message
...
TES,

Not from table view but it can be done using a form. You can create a
form
to look like your table and place a hyperlink on it to open another form,
with something like...

DoCmd.OpenForm "YourFormName"

Tables are meant to just hold the data not interact with it.

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"TES" wrote in message
...
I would like to have a link in one of the columns in my table view that
will
take the user to that record displayed in a form view. Is this possible
to
do in an existing base?

Thanks.




 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.