A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Comments Textbox



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 22nd, 2010, 09:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
lfc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default Comments Textbox

I have a form in which I have an unbound textbox so that users can add
comments about the record. I type something into the textbox on one of the
records and it fills whatever I wrote into all other records. I want what
gets typed to just stay on the one record. Any ideas?
  #2  
Old April 22nd, 2010, 09:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,529
Default Comments Textbox

"LFC" wrote in message
...
I have a form in which I have an unbound textbox so that users can add
comments about the record. I type something into the textbox on one of
the
records and it fills whatever I wrote into all other records. I want what
gets typed to just stay on the one record. Any ideas?



The obvious answer is to bind the text box to a field in the record. Is
there a reason that the text box has to be unbound?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #3  
Old April 22nd, 2010, 09:24 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
ghetto_banjo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 325
Default Comments Textbox

create a "comments" field in your table (if its not there already),
and then make the textbox bound to this field. otherwise it is just
on the form and not being stored anywhere.
  #4  
Old April 22nd, 2010, 09:52 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Comments Textbox

On Thu, 22 Apr 2010 13:17:01 -0700, LFC wrote:

I have a form in which I have an unbound textbox so that users can add
comments about the record. I type something into the textbox on one of the
records and it fills whatever I wrote into all other records. I want what
gets typed to just stay on the one record. Any ideas?


That's what unbound MEANS. It's not stored anywhere, and it's not associated
with any record.

If you want it associated with a record, you'll need to store it in a table
and bind that stored field to a textbox on your form.

If you will have one and only one comment per record, you can just add a Text
or Memo field to the table. However, it's pretty common to want to allow
multiple comments; this can be done by adding a Comments table, with fields
for a foreign key linked to the record's Primary Key, a Memo or Text field to
store the comment, and perhaps a date/time field defaulting to Now() to
timestamp the comment and a field to store the identity of the person making
the comment.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #5  
Old April 27th, 2010, 03:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
lfc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default Comments Textbox

I had tried making it bound to a table, but since I'm querying from multiple
tables if I try to type into a comments field it won't let me because it says
the field is not updateable.

"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"LFC" wrote in message
...
I have a form in which I have an unbound textbox so that users can add
comments about the record. I type something into the textbox on one of
the
records and it fills whatever I wrote into all other records. I want what
gets typed to just stay on the one record. Any ideas?



The obvious answer is to bind the text box to a field in the record. Is
there a reason that the text box has to be unbound?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #6  
Old April 27th, 2010, 05:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
lfc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default Comments Textbox

I found out the reason I couldn't edit the field was because I am using
"group by" in my query. Is there a criteria or some other way to do the same
thing "group by" would do? I have serial numbers in 3 different tables and
need to query for when a serial number is in all three tables.

"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"LFC" wrote in message
...
I have a form in which I have an unbound textbox so that users can add
comments about the record. I type something into the textbox on one of
the
records and it fills whatever I wrote into all other records. I want what
gets typed to just stay on the one record. Any ideas?



The obvious answer is to bind the text box to a field in the record. Is
there a reason that the text box has to be unbound?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #7  
Old April 28th, 2010, 12:15 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,529
Default Comments Textbox

"LFC" wrote in message
...
I found out the reason I couldn't edit the field was because I am using
"group by" in my query. Is there a criteria or some other way to do the
same
thing "group by" would do? I have serial numbers in 3 different tables
and
need to query for when a serial number is in all three tables.



What is the current SQL of the query, and what -- in plain words -- is it
that you want to show on your form?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #8  
Old April 28th, 2010, 01:54 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
lfc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default Comments Textbox

SELECT QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN, QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.Created, QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Build
Date], QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Process Date], QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.Comments,
QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.[Optional 1], QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Where Found],
QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.Reviewed, QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Coorelation Confirmed]
FROM QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl INNER JOIN (QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl INNER JOIN
QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl ON QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.PIN = QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN) ON
(QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Serial number] = QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN) AND
(QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Serial number] = QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.PIN);

Essentially what I want to display is a few columns from each of the tables,
but only have records in which the PIN/serial number is located in all 3
tables. I saw someone that need to do something like this using UNION ALL.
Would that be what I need to use?


"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"LFC" wrote in message
...
I found out the reason I couldn't edit the field was because I am using
"group by" in my query. Is there a criteria or some other way to do the
same
thing "group by" would do? I have serial numbers in 3 different tables
and
need to query for when a serial number is in all three tables.



What is the current SQL of the query, and what -- in plain words -- is it
that you want to show on your form?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #9  
Old April 28th, 2010, 03:02 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
lfc
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 12
Default Comments Textbox

This is my sql statement so far:

SELECT QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN, QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.Created, QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Build
Date], QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Claim Number], QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Part Number],
QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Failure Mode Code], QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Where Found],
QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.Reviewed, QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.Comments,
QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Coorelation Confirmed]
FROM (QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl INNER JOIN QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl ON QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN =
QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.PIN) INNER JOIN QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl ON QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN =
QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Serial Number]
WHERE (((QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN) Is Not Null) AND ((QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Serial
number]) Is Not Null) AND ((QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.PIN) Is Not Null));

I feel like I'm just one step away because if I include group by on the
QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN then I get exactly what I'm looking for. Unfortunately I
can't figure out a way around it. I tried doing
DISTINCT(QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN) and it cut the results down significantly, but
not as much as I would like.

"Dirk Goldgar" wrote:

"LFC" wrote in message
...
I found out the reason I couldn't edit the field was because I am using
"group by" in my query. Is there a criteria or some other way to do the
same
thing "group by" would do? I have serial numbers in 3 different tables
and
need to query for when a serial number is in all three tables.



What is the current SQL of the query, and what -- in plain words -- is it
that you want to show on your form?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

  #10  
Old April 28th, 2010, 10:23 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.forms
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,529
Default Comments Textbox

"LFC" wrote in message
...
This is my sql statement so far:

SELECT QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN, QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.Created,
QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Build
Date], QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Claim Number], QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Part Number],
QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.[Failure Mode Code], QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Where Found],
QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.Reviewed, QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.Comments,
QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Coorelation Confirmed]
FROM (QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl INNER JOIN QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl ON QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN =
QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.PIN) INNER JOIN QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl ON QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN =
QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Serial Number]
WHERE (((QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN) Is Not Null) AND ((QIT_Z3_QNOTE_tbl.[Serial
number]) Is Not Null) AND ((QIT_DTAC_IMP_tbl.PIN) Is Not Null));

I feel like I'm just one step away because if I include group by on the
QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN then I get exactly what I'm looking for.
Unfortunately I
can't figure out a way around it. I tried doing
DISTINCT(QIT_LWH_IMP_tbl.PIN) and it cut the results down significantly,
but
not as much as I would like.



You don't need your WHERE clause (in the above SQL), because the inner joins
on those fields will automatically exclude any records where the joined
fields are Null.

But the problem is that your joins will naturally create duplicate output
records if there are more than one record in any table with the same PIN or
[Serial Number]. From your description, I think that must be at the root of
the problem you're facing. So long as your query must output fields from
all three tables, as you have it defined now, there is no way to reduce
these apparent duplicate records to a single record (whether by GROUP BY or
DISTINCT) and have that record be wholly updatable. That flows naturally
from the fact that any record that is collapsed from multiple records can't
have its data tracked back to a single source record to be updated.

We need to step back and look at what you're trying to do from a broader
perspective. Since one-to-many relationships seem to be involved, maybe a
form/subform arrangement would suit your needs. Or, it *would* be possible
to write a query to extract all records in one table for which there are
matches in the other tables, and have that query be updatable -- so long as
the query doesn't need to return any fields from the other tables.

Could you explain in more detail ...

1. What your tables represent,
2. What the relationships between the tables are, and
3. What you are really trying to do here?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
Access tips: www.datagnostics.com/tips.html

(please reply to the newsgroup)

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.