A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Using Forms
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Option buttons and tabs



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 10th, 2004, 03:34 AM
Aniko
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

Hi,

I would like to ask two questions:
1: When a user selects an option button the appropriate tab
control with a sub form is activated. However, I would like
to lock this to the option button, and not allow the user
to change to a different tab if not changing the option
first. How is it possible?
2: When entering a new record the option button works fine
and selects the appropriate tab control. However, when
using the record navigation control and step to the next
record, the tab control does not reflect the option control
selected for the record.

Can you please help?

Thank you,
Aniko

  #2  
Old June 10th, 2004, 05:51 AM
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

"Aniko" wrote in message

Hi,

I would like to ask two questions:
1: When a user selects an option button the appropriate tab
control with a sub form is activated. However, I would like
to lock this to the option button, and not allow the user
to change to a different tab if not changing the option
first. How is it possible?


One possibility: get rid of the tabs by setting the tab control's Style
property to None.

Another possibility (untested): use code in the tab control's Change
event to set the tab control back to the appropriate page as specified
by the option group. Note that you can set the tab control to a
particular page by setting its Value property to the PageIndex property
of the desired page.

2: When entering a new record the option button works fine
and selects the appropriate tab control. However, when
using the record navigation control and step to the next
record, the tab control does not reflect the option control
selected for the record.


Use the code in the form's Current event to set the tab control to the
correct page as indicated by the option group's value.

Can you please help?


Is that sufficient?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #3  
Old June 10th, 2004, 06:37 AM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

Thanks Dirk,

Your first recommendation for Question No1 works well and
it is easy.

For Question No2, unfortunately I am unable to code the tab
control, as I do not have much knowledge of VB.
I have some logic of how it should be done, but no codes.
I believe for the Form's property - On Current I need to
code an [Event Procedure] to do something like this:
Get the tab index number for the Option group (eg. 10)
Get the Option value of the Option button selected (eg. 1)
Get the tab index number for the tab inside the Tab Control

But I just found out, that the different tabs inside the
tab control have no tab index numbers:-(

So what's next?

Your help is much appreciated.

Aniko


But I am unable to code your other recommendations
-----Original Message-----
"Aniko" wrote in message

Hi,

I would like to ask two questions:
1: When a user selects an option button the appropriate tab
control with a sub form is activated. However, I would like
to lock this to the option button, and not allow the user
to change to a different tab if not changing the option
first. How is it possible?


One possibility: get rid of the tabs by setting the tab

control's Style
property to None.
Another possibility (untested): use code in the tab

control's Change
event to set the tab control back to the appropriate page

as specified
by the option group. Note that you can set the tab

control to a
particular page by setting its Value property to the

PageIndex property
of the desired page.

2: When entering a new record the option button works fine
and selects the appropriate tab control. However, when
using the record navigation control and step to the next
record, the tab control does not reflect the option control
selected for the record.


Use the code in the form's Current event to set the tab

control to the
correct page as indicated by the option group's value.

Can you please help?


Is that sufficient?

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


.

  #4  
Old June 10th, 2004, 04:14 PM
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

wrote in message

Thanks Dirk,

Your first recommendation for Question No1 works well and
it is easy.


Great.

For Question No2, unfortunately I am unable to code the tab
control, as I do not have much knowledge of VB.
I have some logic of how it should be done, but no codes.
I believe for the Form's property - On Current I need to
code an [Event Procedure] to do something like this:
Get the tab index number for the Option group (eg. 10)
Get the Option value of the Option button selected (eg. 1)
Get the tab index number for the tab inside the Tab Control

But I just found out, that the different tabs inside the
tab control have no tab index numbers:-(

So what's next?


You're being confused by the similarity between "tab index" and "page
index" on the one hand, and "tab index" and "tab control" or "tab page",
on the other. It's not actually the Tab Index property that you're
interested in at all, but the Page Index property of the tab control's
pages.

If you built your option group using the Option Group Wizard, and let it
pick the option values, it will have assigned them values in sequence --
1, 2, 3, and so on. The Page Index properties of a tab control, by
contrast, are numbered sequentially starting at 0 -- 0, 1, 2, and so on.
The simplest way to have your tab control pages correspond to the
options of the option groupc is to have page 0 correspond to option 1,
page 1 correspond to option 2, and so on. That way all you have to do
is set the tab control's value to the (option group value - 1).

Let me give you some example code. This code will use the following
"invented names" for your controls:

optMyOptionGroup
- the option group frame whose value you want to use to
determine which page is shown on the tab control.

tabMyTabControl
- the tab control you want to control.

To change pages on the tab control when the option group is updated, you
might have an event procedure for the option group like this:

Private Sub optMyOptionGroup_AfterUpdate()

Me.tabMyTabControl = Me.optMyOptionGroup - 1

End Sub

To make sure that the tab control shows the correct page as you move
from record to record, you would repeat the central line of code from
the above procedure in an event procedure for the form's Current event:

Private Sub Form_Current()

Me.tabMyTabControl = Me.optMyOptionGroup - 1

End Sub

And that would be all you need, in this ideal case. If the relationship
between the option chosen and the specific tab page is more complicated
than that, you would need slightly more elaborate code than that. Let
me know if that's the case, and if you need help with it.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #5  
Old June 11th, 2004, 01:45 AM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

Thank you so much, you cleared my confusion and solved a
problem I was having for two weeks.

Thanks again,
Aniko
-----Original Message-----
wrote in message

Thanks Dirk,

Your first recommendation for Question No1 works well and
it is easy.


Great.

For Question No2, unfortunately I am unable to code the tab
control, as I do not have much knowledge of VB.
I have some logic of how it should be done, but no codes.
I believe for the Form's property - On Current I need to
code an [Event Procedure] to do something like this:
Get the tab index number for the Option group (eg. 10)
Get the Option value of the Option button selected (eg. 1)
Get the tab index number for the tab inside the Tab Control

But I just found out, that the different tabs inside the
tab control have no tab index numbers:-(

So what's next?


You're being confused by the similarity between "tab

index" and "page
index" on the one hand, and "tab index" and "tab control"

or "tab page",
on the other. It's not actually the Tab Index property

that you're
interested in at all, but the Page Index property of the

tab control's
pages.

If you built your option group using the Option Group

Wizard, and let it
pick the option values, it will have assigned them values

in sequence --
1, 2, 3, and so on. The Page Index properties of a tab

control, by
contrast, are numbered sequentially starting at 0 -- 0, 1,

2, and so on.
The simplest way to have your tab control pages correspond

to the
options of the option groupc is to have page 0 correspond

to option 1,
page 1 correspond to option 2, and so on. That way all

you have to do
is set the tab control's value to the (option group value

- 1).

Let me give you some example code. This code will use the

following
"invented names" for your controls:

optMyOptionGroup
- the option group frame whose value you want to

use to
determine which page is shown on the tab control.

tabMyTabControl
- the tab control you want to control.

To change pages on the tab control when the option group

is updated, you
might have an event procedure for the option group like this:

Private Sub optMyOptionGroup_AfterUpdate()

Me.tabMyTabControl = Me.optMyOptionGroup - 1

End Sub

To make sure that the tab control shows the correct page

as you move
from record to record, you would repeat the central line

of code from
the above procedure in an event procedure for the form's

Current event:

Private Sub Form_Current()

Me.tabMyTabControl = Me.optMyOptionGroup - 1

End Sub

And that would be all you need, in this ideal case. If

the relationship
between the option chosen and the specific tab page is

more complicated
than that, you would need slightly more elaborate code

than that. Let
me know if that's the case, and if you need help with it.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


.

  #6  
Old June 13th, 2004, 06:25 AM
Aniko
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

Hi Dirk,

I do not exactly know what happened, but the problem you
originally helped me with, came back.

After everything worked well in the original form, where I
designed tabs and inserted sub forms, I decided to design
the switchboard.

I tried to set up the switchboard few times, but even with
only one button on it, which was meant to take me to the
above mentioned form, did not work. Kept coming up with errors:

"Error accessing file, network connection may have been lost."

I decided to delete the switchboard and try again. No luck.
Tried to create other form with command button to link to
the form, no luck.

And then I went back to the original form, and looked at
the On Current Event Procedure and there is nothing there.
I am unable to key in anything and getting the same error
message when I try.

Pleas help,
Aniko

-----Original Message-----
Thank you so much, you cleared my confusion and solved a
problem I was having for two weeks.

Thanks again,
Aniko
-----Original Message-----
wrote in message

Thanks Dirk,

Your first recommendation for Question No1 works well and
it is easy.


Great.

For Question No2, unfortunately I am unable to code the tab
control, as I do not have much knowledge of VB.
I have some logic of how it should be done, but no codes.
I believe for the Form's property - On Current I need to
code an [Event Procedure] to do something like this:
Get the tab index number for the Option group (eg. 10)
Get the Option value of the Option button selected (eg. 1)
Get the tab index number for the tab inside the Tab Control

But I just found out, that the different tabs inside the
tab control have no tab index numbers:-(

So what's next?


You're being confused by the similarity between "tab

index" and "page
index" on the one hand, and "tab index" and "tab control"

or "tab page",
on the other. It's not actually the Tab Index property

that you're
interested in at all, but the Page Index property of the

tab control's
pages.

If you built your option group using the Option Group

Wizard, and let it
pick the option values, it will have assigned them values

in sequence --
1, 2, 3, and so on. The Page Index properties of a tab

control, by
contrast, are numbered sequentially starting at 0 -- 0, 1,

2, and so on.
The simplest way to have your tab control pages correspond

to the
options of the option groupc is to have page 0 correspond

to option 1,
page 1 correspond to option 2, and so on. That way all

you have to do
is set the tab control's value to the (option group value

- 1).

Let me give you some example code. This code will use the

following
"invented names" for your controls:

optMyOptionGroup
- the option group frame whose value you want to

use to
determine which page is shown on the tab control.

tabMyTabControl
- the tab control you want to control.

To change pages on the tab control when the option group

is updated, you
might have an event procedure for the option group like this:

Private Sub optMyOptionGroup_AfterUpdate()

Me.tabMyTabControl = Me.optMyOptionGroup - 1

End Sub

To make sure that the tab control shows the correct page

as you move
from record to record, you would repeat the central line

of code from
the above procedure in an event procedure for the form's

Current event:

Private Sub Form_Current()

Me.tabMyTabControl = Me.optMyOptionGroup - 1

End Sub

And that would be all you need, in this ideal case. If

the relationship
between the option chosen and the specific tab page is

more complicated
than that, you would need slightly more elaborate code

than that. Let
me know if that's the case, and if you need help with it.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


.

.

  #7  
Old June 13th, 2004, 11:18 AM
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

"Aniko" wrote in message

Hi Dirk,

I do not exactly know what happened, but the problem you
originally helped me with, came back.

After everything worked well in the original form, where I
designed tabs and inserted sub forms, I decided to design
the switchboard.

I tried to set up the switchboard few times, but even with
only one button on it, which was meant to take me to the
above mentioned form, did not work. Kept coming up with errors:

"Error accessing file, network connection may have been lost."

I decided to delete the switchboard and try again. No luck.
Tried to create other form with command button to link to
the form, no luck.

And then I went back to the original form, and looked at
the On Current Event Procedure and there is nothing there.
I am unable to key in anything and getting the same error
message when I try.


Are you using Access 2000? It sounds like you've been bitten by a
particularly nasty bug. See this KB article:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;[LN];304548

Office 2000 SP3 fixes the bug, but that won't repair your corrupted
database. You'll have to resort to a backup, or else try importing all
objects to a new database -- some objects probably won't import, and
you'll have to recreate them from scratch. When you do import the
objects, unless you've applied the service pack, it is *crucial* that
you compile and save the project before closing the database.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #8  
Old June 20th, 2004, 08:36 AM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

Hi,

I spent 2 days trying to put the sp3 on Office 2000.
I had all sorts of error messages. And did three
installations unistallations :-(
Now, according to the Office update site, I have the sp3,
but I lost all the wizards. When trying to go to the
switchboard manager I get this:
Ms Access can't find the wizard or there or there is a
syntax error in the Declarations section of the visual
basic module.
The error recommends the reinstallation, which I did, but
no luck.
It is getting most frustrating,
Any idea where from there?
Thanks Dirk,
Aniko
-----Original Message-----
"Aniko" wrote in message

Hi Dirk,

I do not exactly know what happened, but the problem you
originally helped me with, came back.

After everything worked well in the original form, where I
designed tabs and inserted sub forms, I decided to design
the switchboard.

I tried to set up the switchboard few times, but even with
only one button on it, which was meant to take me to the
above mentioned form, did not work. Kept coming up with

errors:

"Error accessing file, network connection may have been

lost."

I decided to delete the switchboard and try again. No luck.
Tried to create other form with command button to link to
the form, no luck.

And then I went back to the original form, and looked at
the On Current Event Procedure and there is nothing there.
I am unable to key in anything and getting the same error
message when I try.


Are you using Access 2000? It sounds like you've been

bitten by a
particularly nasty bug. See this KB article:


http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;[LN];304548

Office 2000 SP3 fixes the bug, but that won't repair your

corrupted
database. You'll have to resort to a backup, or else try

importing all
objects to a new database -- some objects probably won't

import, and
you'll have to recreate them from scratch. When you do

import the
objects, unless you've applied the service pack, it is

*crucial* that
you compile and save the project before closing the database.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


.

  #9  
Old June 20th, 2004, 05:18 PM
Dirk Goldgar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

wrote in message

Hi,

I spent 2 days trying to put the sp3 on Office 2000.
I had all sorts of error messages. And did three
installations unistallations :-(
Now, according to the Office update site, I have the sp3,
but I lost all the wizards. When trying to go to the
switchboard manager I get this:
Ms Access can't find the wizard or there or there is a
syntax error in the Declarations section of the visual
basic module.
The error recommends the reinstallation, which I did, but
no luck.
It is getting most frustrating,
Any idea where from there?


Huh, I didn't have any such problem when I applied SP3. If you haven't
already, you might try removing the Acwztool.mde file and *then* running
Repair, as directed in this KB article:

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;288300
ACC2000: "Microsoft Access Can't Find the Wizard..." Error Message
After You Apply the Access 2000 and SQL Server 2000 Readiness Update

As the title indicates, the article is addressing a problem that arises
from a different series of events, but following the steps set forth in
the article's "Resolution" section may still help. I'd say it's worth a
try. Let me know how it goes, please.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


  #10  
Old June 21st, 2004, 11:29 AM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Option buttons and tabs

Hi Dirk,

Thank you for your reply. The file, which was mentioned in
the article was already renamed as directed by another
article which recommended to rename 3 files (Acwx*.mde) to
*.old before Sp-3 is installed. Which I did and now when
looked for the acwztool.mde file, there were no new files
created with the *.mde extension. Only the *.old was there.

Still I cut I paste all these files away from the original
folder, and ran the repair. The repair had many error
messages, saying "Error 1328. Error applying patch to file
c:\Config.msi\*.tmp. I clicked Ignore for these.
After the repair I still had the same error when trying to
open the switchboard manager. And the files were not
recreated in the original folder.

I searched the CD for these files and simply copied them to
the original folder.

Now there is no error message when accessing the
switchboard manager, but I still have the very first error
with the original database (Error accessing file...).

I recreated the form in a new database (the one with the
option buttons and tabs) by importing the original tables.

It works fine, however, when adding the switchboard, I can
fill in the necessary information for the switchboard, and
click Close, and there is no Switchboard item in the Forms
object only in the table object and cannot see it when
setting up the Startup option.

I just don't know what I am doing wrong.

Thanks for your help,
Aniko



On the other hand, I recreated
-----Original Message-----
wrote in message

Hi,

I spent 2 days trying to put the sp3 on Office 2000.
I had all sorts of error messages. And did three
installations unistallations :-(
Now, according to the Office update site, I have the sp3,
but I lost all the wizards. When trying to go to the
switchboard manager I get this:
Ms Access can't find the wizard or there or there is a
syntax error in the Declarations section of the visual
basic module.
The error recommends the reinstallation, which I did, but
no luck.
It is getting most frustrating,
Any idea where from there?


Huh, I didn't have any such problem when I applied SP3.

If you haven't
already, you might try removing the Acwztool.mde file and

*then* running
Repair, as directed in this KB article:


http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;288300
ACC2000: "Microsoft Access Can't Find the Wizard..."

Error Message
After You Apply the Access 2000 and SQL Server 2000

Readiness Update

As the title indicates, the article is addressing a

problem that arises
from a different series of events, but following the steps

set forth in
the article's "Resolution" section may still help. I'd

say it's worth a
try. Let me know how it goes, please.

--
Dirk Goldgar, MS Access MVP
www.datagnostics.com

(please reply to the newsgroup)


.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.