A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Word » Tables
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Sort



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old July 13th, 2004, 09:59 AM
DR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

I am perfectly happy to get Column 1, etc. as the sort choices rather than
the alphanumeric content of row 2. But I'm not getting that in Sort by,
unless I first highlight all the rows other than the two header rows.

To review, there is a merged header row, then a second row that isn't
merged, then the rows to be sorted. On Table | Sort, the only thing that
appears in Sort by is the alphanumeric content of row 1. The routine
simply cannot handle a merged row in the picture. Also, if you try the same
thing with an unmerged row 1 instead, the routine works but the choices are
incorrectly shown as the content of row 1 if there is an entry in the
column, and Column # if not.

Bottom line -- Word doesn't work with more than one header row.

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
mmmHokay ... I'm a bit slow on the uptake sometimes

Klaus




Ads
  #12  
Old July 13th, 2004, 01:52 PM
Suzanne S. Barnhill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

A solution has been offered. Take it or leave it.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
I am perfectly happy to get Column 1, etc. as the sort choices rather than
the alphanumeric content of row 2. But I'm not getting that in Sort by,
unless I first highlight all the rows other than the two header rows.

To review, there is a merged header row, then a second row that isn't
merged, then the rows to be sorted. On Table | Sort, the only thing that
appears in Sort by is the alphanumeric content of row 1. The routine
simply cannot handle a merged row in the picture. Also, if you try the

same
thing with an unmerged row 1 instead, the routine works but the choices

are
incorrectly shown as the content of row 1 if there is an entry in the
column, and Column # if not.

Bottom line -- Word doesn't work with more than one header row.

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
mmmHokay ... I'm a bit slow on the uptake sometimes

Klaus





  #13  
Old July 13th, 2004, 04:07 PM
DR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

Gee, I think you are misreading both the tone and the content of my post.
1- I wasn't complaining about your helpfulness, which I appreciate.
2- Your response is not accurate. It is not correct that, where there are
two header rows, I "will have to sort by Column 1...". That is not an
option.

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
A solution has been offered. Take it or leave it.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup

so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
I am perfectly happy to get Column 1, etc. as the sort choices rather

than
the alphanumeric content of row 2. But I'm not getting that in Sort by,
unless I first highlight all the rows other than the two header rows.

To review, there is a merged header row, then a second row that isn't
merged, then the rows to be sorted. On Table | Sort, the only thing

that
appears in Sort by is the alphanumeric content of row 1. The routine
simply cannot handle a merged row in the picture. Also, if you try the

same
thing with an unmerged row 1 instead, the routine works but the choices

are
incorrectly shown as the content of row 1 if there is an entry in the
column, and Column # if not.

Bottom line -- Word doesn't work with more than one header row.

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
mmmHokay ... I'm a bit slow on the uptake sometimes

Klaus







  #14  
Old July 13th, 2004, 05:25 PM
Suzanne S. Barnhill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

I also suggested "Alternatively, you can split the table between the two
heading rows, sort, then delete the intervening paragraph to rejoin the
table."

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
Gee, I think you are misreading both the tone and the content of my post.
1- I wasn't complaining about your helpfulness, which I appreciate.
2- Your response is not accurate. It is not correct that, where there are
two header rows, I "will have to sort by Column 1...". That is not an
option.

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
A solution has been offered. Take it or leave it.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the

newsgroup
so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
I am perfectly happy to get Column 1, etc. as the sort choices rather

than
the alphanumeric content of row 2. But I'm not getting that in Sort

by,
unless I first highlight all the rows other than the two header rows.

To review, there is a merged header row, then a second row that isn't
merged, then the rows to be sorted. On Table | Sort, the only thing

that
appears in Sort by is the alphanumeric content of row 1. The routine
simply cannot handle a merged row in the picture. Also, if you try

the
same
thing with an unmerged row 1 instead, the routine works but the

choices
are
incorrectly shown as the content of row 1 if there is an entry in the
column, and Column # if not.

Bottom line -- Word doesn't work with more than one header row.

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
mmmHokay ... I'm a bit slow on the uptake sometimes

Klaus








  #15  
Old July 13th, 2004, 09:54 PM
Rees
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

Try telling that one to 180 operators who can barely spell 'winword'.

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
I also suggested "Alternatively, you can split the table between the two
heading rows, sort, then delete the intervening paragraph to rejoin the
table."

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup

so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
Gee, I think you are misreading both the tone and the content of my

post.
1- I wasn't complaining about your helpfulness, which I appreciate.
2- Your response is not accurate. It is not correct that, where there

are
two header rows, I "will have to sort by Column 1...". That is not an
option.

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
A solution has been offered. Take it or leave it.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the

newsgroup
so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
I am perfectly happy to get Column 1, etc. as the sort choices

rather
than
the alphanumeric content of row 2. But I'm not getting that in Sort

by,
unless I first highlight all the rows other than the two header

rows.

To review, there is a merged header row, then a second row that

isn't
merged, then the rows to be sorted. On Table | Sort, the only thing

that
appears in Sort by is the alphanumeric content of row 1. The

routine
simply cannot handle a merged row in the picture. Also, if you try

the
same
thing with an unmerged row 1 instead, the routine works but the

choices
are
incorrectly shown as the content of row 1 if there is an entry in

the
column, and Column # if not.

Bottom line -- Word doesn't work with more than one header row.

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
mmmHokay ... I'm a bit slow on the uptake sometimes

Klaus










  #16  
Old July 13th, 2004, 10:29 PM
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

Hi Rees,

If you can do without repeating headers, you could split the table after
the headers and format the paragraph mark between the tables as "hidden".

Greetings,
Klaus


  #17  
Old July 13th, 2004, 10:32 PM
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

If you can do without repeating headers, you could split the table after
the headers and format the paragraph mark between the tables as "hidden".


....or better, do the split after the row(s) with merged cells.

Klaus


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sort forgets last sort and forgets I have header rows medlint General Discussion 6 June 19th, 2004 12:09 AM
Sort Formula for TEXT Aaron Worksheet Functions 1 June 9th, 2004 03:28 AM
Setting up a Command Button to sort Frank Kabel Worksheet Functions 2 May 22nd, 2004 06:24 PM
Setting up a Command Button to sort rg8407 Worksheet Functions 0 May 21st, 2004 08:34 PM
Is it possible to automatically sort cells easily? (I'm going mad!) Andy Sandford Worksheet Functions 2 November 9th, 2003 04:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.