A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Word » Tables
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Sort



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 12th, 2004, 03:05 PM
DR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

In sorting a Word 2000 table, where one or more rows are marked as repeating
headers, the sort (Table | Sort) does not work properly unless I have
highlighted all the rows but the header row(s). Is this intended? Seems
that step shouldn't be necessary. Thanks.


Ads
  #2  
Old July 12th, 2004, 03:44 PM
Suzanne S. Barnhill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

Does it work if you don't select any rows? If the insertion point is in the
table and you use Table | Sort, the results should be as expected (all rows
sorted except the heading rows).

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
In sorting a Word 2000 table, where one or more rows are marked as

repeating
headers, the sort (Table | Sort) does not work properly unless I have
highlighted all the rows but the header row(s). Is this intended? Seems
that step shouldn't be necessary. Thanks.



  #3  
Old July 12th, 2004, 06:31 PM
DR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

No, it highlights the entire table and the wiz asks me Sort By and shows
only the text of the first (of two) header lines as the choice. Send the
file?

"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote in message
...
Does it work if you don't select any rows? If the insertion point is in

the
table and you use Table | Sort, the results should be as expected (all

rows
sorted except the heading rows).

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup

so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
In sorting a Word 2000 table, where one or more rows are marked as

repeating
headers, the sort (Table | Sort) does not work properly unless I have
highlighted all the rows but the header row(s). Is this intended?

Seems
that step shouldn't be necessary. Thanks.





  #4  
Old July 12th, 2004, 06:49 PM
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

Hi DR,

If you have heading rows, the Sort dialog will show those headings instead
of the column numbers.

So if you have columns with headings "First name", "Last name", the dialog
will show "Sort by: First name" instead of "Sort by: Column 1".

Maybe that's what you are seeing? Did you try if the sort works ok?

Greetings,
Klaus


  #5  
Old July 12th, 2004, 08:18 PM
DR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

Wish that's were the case. I have one row that's pure header, then a second
row with headings for the subsequent rows. Pretty standard. No matter what
I designate as repeating headers, the sort asks me whether I want to sort by
the text in the top row. If you mean something special or beyond this by
'heading rows' then maybe that's the problem, because all I have done is to
designate the first two rows as repeating headers (and as suggested above
also tried designating only the top row).

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
Hi DR,

If you have heading rows, the Sort dialog will show those headings instead
of the column numbers.

So if you have columns with headings "First name", "Last name", the dialog
will show "Sort by: First name" instead of "Sort by: Column 1".

Maybe that's what you are seeing? Did you try if the sort works ok?

Greetings,
Klaus




  #6  
Old July 12th, 2004, 10:36 PM
Suzanne S. Barnhill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

Word will take only the top heading row for this purpose, and if you have
merged cells, it's useless. You will have to sort by Column 1, Column 2,
etc., instead. Alternatively, you can split the table between the two
heading rows, sort, then delete the intervening paragraph to rejoin the
table.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
Wish that's were the case. I have one row that's pure header, then a

second
row with headings for the subsequent rows. Pretty standard. No matter

what
I designate as repeating headers, the sort asks me whether I want to sort

by
the text in the top row. If you mean something special or beyond this by
'heading rows' then maybe that's the problem, because all I have done is

to
designate the first two rows as repeating headers (and as suggested above
also tried designating only the top row).

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
Hi DR,

If you have heading rows, the Sort dialog will show those headings

instead
of the column numbers.

So if you have columns with headings "First name", "Last name", the

dialog
will show "Sort by: First name" instead of "Sort by: Column 1".

Maybe that's what you are seeing? Did you try if the sort works ok?

Greetings,
Klaus





  #7  
Old July 13th, 2004, 12:10 AM
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

I still don't get the problem. If I have 2 (or three, or 12) header rows in
the table, those aren't sorted.
So everything seems to be as it should be, or am I missing something?

Regards,
Klaus


"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:
Word will take only the top heading row for this purpose, and if you have
merged cells, it's useless. You will have to sort by Column 1, Column 2,
etc., instead. Alternatively, you can split the table between the two
heading rows, sort, then delete the intervening paragraph to rejoin the
table.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup

so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
Wish that's were the case. I have one row that's pure header, then a

second
row with headings for the subsequent rows. Pretty standard. No matter

what
I designate as repeating headers, the sort asks me whether I want to

sort
by
the text in the top row. If you mean something special or beyond this

by
'heading rows' then maybe that's the problem, because all I have done

is
to
designate the first two rows as repeating headers (and as suggested

above
also tried designating only the top row).

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
Hi DR,

If you have heading rows, the Sort dialog will show those headings

instead
of the column numbers.

So if you have columns with headings "First name", "Last name", the

dialog
will show "Sort by: First name" instead of "Sort by: Column 1".

Maybe that's what you are seeing? Did you try if the sort works ok?

Greetings,
Klaus







  #8  
Old July 13th, 2004, 12:37 AM
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

So everything seems to be as it should be, or am I missing something?

.... well, apart from possible problems with merged cells ... and from the
problem that the headers in the first row may not be very meaningful...

Ok, I think I got it now ;-)
Klaus


  #9  
Old July 13th, 2004, 12:39 AM
Suzanne S. Barnhill
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

Klaus, try merging the cells in your top row. Then you'll see what the OP is
facing. I'm not saying that Word won't omit all heading rows from sorting,
only that the names of the columns to be sorted on come from the top row.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
I still don't get the problem. If I have 2 (or three, or 12) header rows

in
the table, those aren't sorted.
So everything seems to be as it should be, or am I missing something?

Regards,
Klaus


"Suzanne S. Barnhill" wrote:
Word will take only the top heading row for this purpose, and if you

have
merged cells, it's useless. You will have to sort by Column 1, Column 2,
etc., instead. Alternatively, you can split the table between the two
heading rows, sort, then delete the intervening paragraph to rejoin the
table.

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the

newsgroup
so
all may benefit.

"DR" wrote in message
...
Wish that's were the case. I have one row that's pure header, then a

second
row with headings for the subsequent rows. Pretty standard. No

matter
what
I designate as repeating headers, the sort asks me whether I want to

sort
by
the text in the top row. If you mean something special or beyond this

by
'heading rows' then maybe that's the problem, because all I have done

is
to
designate the first two rows as repeating headers (and as suggested

above
also tried designating only the top row).

"Klaus Linke" wrote in message
...
Hi DR,

If you have heading rows, the Sort dialog will show those headings

instead
of the column numbers.

So if you have columns with headings "First name", "Last name", the

dialog
will show "Sort by: First name" instead of "Sort by: Column 1".

Maybe that's what you are seeing? Did you try if the sort works ok?

Greetings,
Klaus








  #10  
Old July 13th, 2004, 01:38 AM
Klaus Linke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Sort

mmmHokay ... I'm a bit slow on the uptake sometimes

Klaus


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sort forgets last sort and forgets I have header rows medlint General Discussion 6 June 19th, 2004 12:09 AM
Sort Formula for TEXT Aaron Worksheet Functions 1 June 9th, 2004 03:28 AM
Setting up a Command Button to sort Frank Kabel Worksheet Functions 2 May 22nd, 2004 06:24 PM
Setting up a Command Button to sort rg8407 Worksheet Functions 0 May 21st, 2004 08:34 PM
Is it possible to automatically sort cells easily? (I'm going mad!) Andy Sandford Worksheet Functions 2 November 9th, 2003 03:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2019 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.