A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Powerpoint, Publisher and Visio » Visio
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

How to show dimension on the diagram



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 24th, 2004, 09:56 PM
Wellie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to show dimension on the diagram

I'm new to Viso and want to use Viso to create a floor plan layout. As I the symbols on the symbol to draw various rooms and walls at the dimension that I want by reading off the measurement from the bottom bar where it shows the 'width', 'height' and 'angle'.

Questions
1 - What setting do I need to change s.t. I can set the measurement dimension to ft and inches rather than just ft only ?

2 - How can I have the measurement shows display next to the wall. For example, I have a room of 10' x 15' 5" and would like the measurements display as shown in the following sample diagram.
+--------------------------------+
|^ -------- 15' 5" ---------|
| | |
|10' |
| | |
| v |
+---------------------------------+

Thanks in advance for your assistance.
  #2  
Old April 25th, 2004, 08:02 AM
Geert Vancompernolle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to show dimension on the diagram

1. My guess: select 'Inches' from 'Tools - Options - Units - Change' and
then select 'Inches'. Since inches are bigger then feet (I guess, since I'm
used to a metric system...), I guess that everything behind the comma will
be the 'feet' part, before the comma will be the 'inches' part. At least,
that's how it works for the metric system: for instance 15,33 m

2. Open shapes button (standard toolbar), then Visio Extra's - Dimensioning
Engineering.
You can place all kinds of measurements: inner - outer - horizontal -
vertical... Even the surface can be calculated (see Room Measure in this
shape section).

--Geert

"Wellie" wrote in message
...
I'm new to Viso and want to use Viso to create a floor plan layout. As I

the symbols on the symbol to draw various rooms and walls at the dimension
that I want by reading off the measurement from the bottom bar where it
shows the 'width', 'height' and 'angle'.

Questions
1 - What setting do I need to change s.t. I can set the measurement

dimension to ft and inches rather than just ft only ?

2 - How can I have the measurement shows display next to the wall. For

example, I have a room of 10' x 15' 5" and would like the measurements
display as shown in the following sample diagram.
+--------------------------------+
|^ -------- 15' 5" ---------|
| | |
|10' |
| | |
| v |
+---------------------------------+

Thanks in advance for your assistance.



  #3  
Old April 25th, 2004, 05:56 PM
Randall Arnold
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to show dimension on the diagram

Actually, Geert, feet are bigger than inches. There are 12 inches ("") per
foot ('), ie, 12' 6" = 12 feet + 6 inches or 150 inches.

Randall Arnold

"Geert Vancompernolle" wrote in message
...
1. My guess: select 'Inches' from 'Tools - Options - Units - Change'
and
then select 'Inches'. Since inches are bigger then feet (I guess, since
I'm
used to a metric system...), I guess that everything behind the comma will
be the 'feet' part, before the comma will be the 'inches' part. At least,
that's how it works for the metric system: for instance 15,33 m

2. Open shapes button (standard toolbar), then Visio Extra's -
Dimensioning
Engineering.
You can place all kinds of measurements: inner - outer - horizontal -
vertical... Even the surface can be calculated (see Room Measure in this
shape section).

--Geert

"Wellie" wrote in message
...
I'm new to Viso and want to use Viso to create a floor plan layout. As I

the symbols on the symbol to draw various rooms and walls at the dimension
that I want by reading off the measurement from the bottom bar where it
shows the 'width', 'height' and 'angle'.

Questions
1 - What setting do I need to change s.t. I can set the measurement

dimension to ft and inches rather than just ft only ?

2 - How can I have the measurement shows display next to the wall. For

example, I have a room of 10' x 15' 5" and would like the measurements
display as shown in the following sample diagram.
+--------------------------------+
|^ -------- 15' 5" ---------|
| | |
|10' |
| | |
| v |
+---------------------------------+

Thanks in advance for your assistance.





  #4  
Old April 27th, 2004, 05:29 PM
Geert Vancompernolle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to show dimension on the diagram

Oops!

Thanks for the correction, Randall... Time for me to look further than the
European metrics system... :-)

--Geert

As I stated,
"Randall Arnold" wrote in message
...
Actually, Geert, feet are bigger than inches. There are 12 inches ("")

per
foot ('), ie, 12' 6" = 12 feet + 6 inches or 150 inches.

Randall Arnold

"Geert Vancompernolle" wrote in message
...
1. My guess: select 'Inches' from 'Tools - Options - Units - Change'
and
then select 'Inches'. Since inches are bigger then feet (I guess, since
I'm
used to a metric system...), I guess that everything behind the comma

will
be the 'feet' part, before the comma will be the 'inches' part. At

least,
that's how it works for the metric system: for instance 15,33 m

2. Open shapes button (standard toolbar), then Visio Extra's -
Dimensioning
Engineering.
You can place all kinds of measurements: inner - outer - horizontal -
vertical... Even the surface can be calculated (see Room Measure in

this
shape section).

--Geert

"Wellie" wrote in message
...
I'm new to Viso and want to use Viso to create a floor plan layout. As

I
the symbols on the symbol to draw various rooms and walls at the

dimension
that I want by reading off the measurement from the bottom bar where it
shows the 'width', 'height' and 'angle'.

Questions
1 - What setting do I need to change s.t. I can set the measurement

dimension to ft and inches rather than just ft only ?

2 - How can I have the measurement shows display next to the wall. For

example, I have a room of 10' x 15' 5" and would like the measurements
display as shown in the following sample diagram.
+--------------------------------+
|^ -------- 15' 5" ---------|
| | |
|10' |
| | |
| v |
+---------------------------------+

Thanks in advance for your assistance.







  #5  
Old April 28th, 2004, 01:12 AM
Randall Arnold
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default How to show dimension on the diagram

Actually, it's past due time for us to start using metric... ; )

Randall Arnold

"Geert Vancompernolle" wrote in message
...
Oops!

Thanks for the correction, Randall... Time for me to look further than
the
European metrics system... :-)

--Geert

As I stated,
"Randall Arnold" wrote in message
...
Actually, Geert, feet are bigger than inches. There are 12 inches ("")

per
foot ('), ie, 12' 6" = 12 feet + 6 inches or 150 inches.

Randall Arnold

"Geert Vancompernolle" wrote in message
...
1. My guess: select 'Inches' from 'Tools - Options - Units - Change'
and
then select 'Inches'. Since inches are bigger then feet (I guess,
since
I'm
used to a metric system...), I guess that everything behind the comma

will
be the 'feet' part, before the comma will be the 'inches' part. At

least,
that's how it works for the metric system: for instance 15,33 m

2. Open shapes button (standard toolbar), then Visio Extra's -
Dimensioning
Engineering.
You can place all kinds of measurements: inner - outer - horizontal -
vertical... Even the surface can be calculated (see Room Measure in

this
shape section).

--Geert

"Wellie" wrote in message
...
I'm new to Viso and want to use Viso to create a floor plan layout.
As

I
the symbols on the symbol to draw various rooms and walls at the

dimension
that I want by reading off the measurement from the bottom bar where it
shows the 'width', 'height' and 'angle'.

Questions
1 - What setting do I need to change s.t. I can set the measurement
dimension to ft and inches rather than just ft only ?

2 - How can I have the measurement shows display next to the wall. For
example, I have a room of 10' x 15' 5" and would like the measurements
display as shown in the following sample diagram.
+--------------------------------+
|^ -------- 15' 5" ---------|
| | |
|10' |
| | |
| v |
+---------------------------------+

Thanks in advance for your assistance.








 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2023 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.