A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » Database Design
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Access 2003 and SQL



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 2nd, 2009, 06:55 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Mat Child
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Access 2003 and SQL

Hi,
I created an Access 2005 database and the back end currently uses an MDB on
a network server.
As what usually happens it's grown beyond what it was intended for. Coupled
with the fact the network connection is slow we are getting poor response
times. It's not unusable - yet, but it's getting there.

I'm trying to pursuade the powers that be to let me access to an SQL server.
I know access 2003 ADP's are not supported on SQL 2005, but i did tests using
ODBC drivers the front end connects just fine.
(I installed sql express and ran the upsize wizard and it worked!!)

Questions i have
Will the front end still work as though it's using an MDB, ie pull all
65,000 records in a table to find the one it wants or will the sql server be
able to return the relevant records?
Is there a better way to connect access 2003 to SQL 2005?

I have no other choice as to what versions i can use.

Any comments would be appreciated
  #2  
Old September 2nd, 2009, 07:07 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Daryl S[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 881
Default Access 2003 and SQL

Mat -

If you switch to SQL Server as the back-end, I would recommend a couple
changes to the code so you can let the SQL Server do all the work, and not
return the 65000 records if only one is needed. You can do this by creating
some Views in SQL Server or by using pass-through queries in your Access
front-end so that SQL Server will do the work.
--
Daryl S


"Mat Child" wrote:

Hi,
I created an Access 2005 database and the back end currently uses an MDB on
a network server.
As what usually happens it's grown beyond what it was intended for. Coupled
with the fact the network connection is slow we are getting poor response
times. It's not unusable - yet, but it's getting there.

I'm trying to pursuade the powers that be to let me access to an SQL server.
I know access 2003 ADP's are not supported on SQL 2005, but i did tests using
ODBC drivers the front end connects just fine.
(I installed sql express and ran the upsize wizard and it worked!!)

Questions i have
Will the front end still work as though it's using an MDB, ie pull all
65,000 records in a table to find the one it wants or will the sql server be
able to return the relevant records?
Is there a better way to connect access 2003 to SQL 2005?

I have no other choice as to what versions i can use.

Any comments would be appreciated

  #3  
Old September 2nd, 2009, 07:17 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Mat Child
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 14
Default Access 2003 and SQL

Brilliant,

thanks for that

Mat

"Daryl S" wrote:

Mat -

If you switch to SQL Server as the back-end, I would recommend a couple
changes to the code so you can let the SQL Server do all the work, and not
return the 65000 records if only one is needed. You can do this by creating
some Views in SQL Server or by using pass-through queries in your Access
front-end so that SQL Server will do the work.
--
Daryl S


"Mat Child" wrote:

Hi,
I created an Access 2005 database and the back end currently uses an MDB on
a network server.
As what usually happens it's grown beyond what it was intended for. Coupled
with the fact the network connection is slow we are getting poor response
times. It's not unusable - yet, but it's getting there.

I'm trying to pursuade the powers that be to let me access to an SQL server.
I know access 2003 ADP's are not supported on SQL 2005, but i did tests using
ODBC drivers the front end connects just fine.
(I installed sql express and ran the upsize wizard and it worked!!)

Questions i have
Will the front end still work as though it's using an MDB, ie pull all
65,000 records in a table to find the one it wants or will the sql server be
able to return the relevant records?
Is there a better way to connect access 2003 to SQL 2005?

I have no other choice as to what versions i can use.

Any comments would be appreciated

  #4  
Old September 3rd, 2009, 05:03 AM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Sylvain Lafontaine[_2_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 247
Default Access 2003 and SQL

ADP 2003 works perfectly well against SQL-Server 2005 and is fully supported
as a FrontEnd for the data; it's the design tools which are not supported
(and don't work).

If your current database is actually slow when working against a MDB
database file as the backend, likely, it will be as slow or even slower if
you simply replace it with SQL-Server 2005 as the backend without making
modifications to your code.

With an ADP project, it's easier than with ODBC Linked Tables to make things
going a little faster but even then, you'll have a lot of work to do.
Beside ADP, other solutions to make things going faster (when working
against SQL-Server) would be to use unbound forms or go with the .NET
framework. With ODBC, you'll have to use linked Views and Passthrough
queries but it's not as easy than the other solutions.

--
Sylvain Lafontaine, ing.
MVP - Windows Live Platform
Email: sylvain2009 sylvainlafontaine com (fill the blanks, no spam please)
Independent consultant and remote programming for Access and SQL-Server
(French)


"Mat Child" wrote in message
...
Hi,
I created an Access 2005 database and the back end currently uses an MDB
on
a network server.
As what usually happens it's grown beyond what it was intended for.
Coupled
with the fact the network connection is slow we are getting poor response
times. It's not unusable - yet, but it's getting there.

I'm trying to pursuade the powers that be to let me access to an SQL
server.
I know access 2003 ADP's are not supported on SQL 2005, but i did tests
using
ODBC drivers the front end connects just fine.
(I installed sql express and ran the upsize wizard and it worked!!)

Questions i have
Will the front end still work as though it's using an MDB, ie pull all
65,000 records in a table to find the one it wants or will the sql server
be
able to return the relevant records?
Is there a better way to connect access 2003 to SQL 2005?

I have no other choice as to what versions i can use.

Any comments would be appreciated



  #5  
Old September 4th, 2009, 03:55 PM posted to microsoft.public.access.tablesdbdesign
Roger Carlson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 824
Default Access 2003 and SQL

I suggest getting a copy of "Microsoft Access Developer's Guide to SQL
Server" by Mary Chipman and Andy Baron. I'm sure you can find it used on
Amazon. Although it's for Access 2000, many of the strategies are still
valid for Access 2003 and SQL Server 2005. The only caveat I have with the
book is that it makes much ado about ADO (sorry about that), and Microsoft
has backed off on recommending ADO everywhere.


--
--Roger Carlson
MS Access MVP
Access Database Samples: www.rogersaccesslibrary.com
Want answers to your Access questions in your Email?
Free subscription:
http://peach.ease.lsoft.com/scripts/...UBED1=ACCESS-L



"Mat Child" wrote in message
...
Hi,
I created an Access 2005 database and the back end currently uses an MDB
on
a network server.
As what usually happens it's grown beyond what it was intended for.
Coupled
with the fact the network connection is slow we are getting poor response
times. It's not unusable - yet, but it's getting there.

I'm trying to pursuade the powers that be to let me access to an SQL
server.
I know access 2003 ADP's are not supported on SQL 2005, but i did tests
using
ODBC drivers the front end connects just fine.
(I installed sql express and ran the upsize wizard and it worked!!)

Questions i have
Will the front end still work as though it's using an MDB, ie pull all
65,000 records in a table to find the one it wants or will the sql server
be
able to return the relevant records?
Is there a better way to connect access 2003 to SQL 2005?

I have no other choice as to what versions i can use.

Any comments would be appreciated



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.