A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Using Parameters in Graph



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 3rd, 2010, 02:53 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Alaska1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default Using Parameters in Graph

Is there a way to use Parameter in the Graphs in Access Reporting? I have a
straight graph and then graphs with cross tab queries?


  #2  
Old June 3rd, 2010, 04:16 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
KARL DEWEY
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,767
Default Using Parameters in Graph

Your 'straight graph' pulls data via some SQL statement as does the crosstab
query. These can be edited to include parameters or better yet would be to
use a form with unbound text boxes for entering the parameters and refer to
the text boxes in the criteria of the SQL.

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Is there a way to use Parameter in the Graphs in Access Reporting? I have a
straight graph and then graphs with cross tab queries?


  #3  
Old June 3rd, 2010, 04:54 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Alaska1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default Using Parameters in Graph

Thank you,

I have listed the sql query below.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

I need to add the parameter [Which Division] and [Which Department]. I
added it intot the sql query but it gave me any error. Not sure where to add
the clause

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Your 'straight graph' pulls data via some SQL statement as does the crosstab
query. These can be edited to include parameters or better yet would be to
use a form with unbound text boxes for entering the parameters and refer to
the text boxes in the criteria of the SQL.

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Is there a way to use Parameter in the Graphs in Access Reporting? I have a
straight graph and then graphs with cross tab queries?


  #4  
Old June 3rd, 2010, 06:44 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
KARL DEWEY
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,767
Default Using Parameters in Graph

Try this --
TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE [Division] = [Which Division] AND [Department] = [Which Department]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you,

I have listed the sql query below.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

I need to add the parameter [Which Division] and [Which Department]. I
added it intot the sql query but it gave me any error. Not sure where to add
the clause

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Your 'straight graph' pulls data via some SQL statement as does the crosstab
query. These can be edited to include parameters or better yet would be to
use a form with unbound text boxes for entering the parameters and refer to
the text boxes in the criteria of the SQL.

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Is there a way to use Parameter in the Graphs in Access Reporting? I have a
straight graph and then graphs with cross tab queries?


  #5  
Old June 3rd, 2010, 09:43 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Alaska1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default Using Parameters in Graph

Thank you!. Appreciate your help.

Here is the query I used. I used a wildcard, so they do not have to type
exact. i keep getting Microsoft Jet Engine does not recognize [Which
Department] as a valid field name or expresssion.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE ((([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Division) Like "*" & [Which Division] &
"*") AND (([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Department) Like "*" & [Which
Department] & "*"))
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;


"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Try this --
TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE [Division] = [Which Division] AND [Department] = [Which Department]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you,

I have listed the sql query below.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

I need to add the parameter [Which Division] and [Which Department]. I
added it intot the sql query but it gave me any error. Not sure where to add
the clause

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Your 'straight graph' pulls data via some SQL statement as does the crosstab
query. These can be edited to include parameters or better yet would be to
use a form with unbound text boxes for entering the parameters and refer to
the text boxes in the criteria of the SQL.

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Is there a way to use Parameter in the Graphs in Access Reporting? I have a
straight graph and then graphs with cross tab queries?


  #6  
Old June 4th, 2010, 06:24 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
KARL DEWEY
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 10,767
Default Using Parameters in Graph

I forgot, crosstab queries must have parameters defined. Below is if they
are integers. This is for text --
PARAMETERS [Which Department] TEXT (255), [Which Division] TEXT (255);

PARAMETERS [Which Department] Short, [Which Division] Short;
TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE ((([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Division) Like "*" & [Which Division] &
"*") AND (([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Department) Like "*" & [Which
Department] & "*"))
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you!. Appreciate your help.

Here is the query I used. I used a wildcard, so they do not have to type
exact. i keep getting Microsoft Jet Engine does not recognize [Which
Department] as a valid field name or expresssion.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE ((([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Division) Like "*" & [Which Division] &
"*") AND (([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Department) Like "*" & [Which
Department] & "*"))
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;


"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Try this --
TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE [Division] = [Which Division] AND [Department] = [Which Department]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you,

I have listed the sql query below.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

I need to add the parameter [Which Division] and [Which Department]. I
added it intot the sql query but it gave me any error. Not sure where to add
the clause

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Your 'straight graph' pulls data via some SQL statement as does the crosstab
query. These can be edited to include parameters or better yet would be to
use a form with unbound text boxes for entering the parameters and refer to
the text boxes in the criteria of the SQL.

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Is there a way to use Parameter in the Graphs in Access Reporting? I have a
straight graph and then graphs with cross tab queries?


  #7  
Old June 4th, 2010, 02:41 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Alaska1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default Using Parameters in Graph

Thank you! Thank you!

It works. Thanks so much.

I added a text box
=" " & [Department] & "/ " & [Division] over the graph to list the
department and division but the parameters are not showing up.

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

I forgot, crosstab queries must have parameters defined. Below is if they
are integers. This is for text --
PARAMETERS [Which Department] TEXT (255), [Which Division] TEXT (255);

PARAMETERS [Which Department] Short, [Which Division] Short;
TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE ((([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Division) Like "*" & [Which Division] &
"*") AND (([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Department) Like "*" & [Which
Department] & "*"))
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you!. Appreciate your help.

Here is the query I used. I used a wildcard, so they do not have to type
exact. i keep getting Microsoft Jet Engine does not recognize [Which
Department] as a valid field name or expresssion.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE ((([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Division) Like "*" & [Which Division] &
"*") AND (([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Department) Like "*" & [Which
Department] & "*"))
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;


"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Try this --
TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE [Division] = [Which Division] AND [Department] = [Which Department]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you,

I have listed the sql query below.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

I need to add the parameter [Which Division] and [Which Department]. I
added it intot the sql query but it gave me any error. Not sure where to add
the clause

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Your 'straight graph' pulls data via some SQL statement as does the crosstab
query. These can be edited to include parameters or better yet would be to
use a form with unbound text boxes for entering the parameters and refer to
the text boxes in the criteria of the SQL.

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Is there a way to use Parameter in the Graphs in Access Reporting? I have a
straight graph and then graphs with cross tab queries?


  #8  
Old June 5th, 2010, 02:55 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Alaska1
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 46
Default Using Parameters in Graph

Do you have any suggestions or ideas as to why the parmenters for division
and department are not showing up.

Built it in text box with an expression and added it to the page header of
the report.

=" " & [Department] & "/ " & [Division] over the graph to list the
department and division but the parameters are not showing up.

"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you! Thank you!

It works. Thanks so much.

I added a text box
=" " & [Department] & "/ " & [Division] over the graph to list the
department and division but the parameters are not showing up.

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

I forgot, crosstab queries must have parameters defined. Below is if they
are integers. This is for text --
PARAMETERS [Which Department] TEXT (255), [Which Division] TEXT (255);

PARAMETERS [Which Department] Short, [Which Division] Short;
TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE ((([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Division) Like "*" & [Which Division] &
"*") AND (([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Department) Like "*" & [Which
Department] & "*"))
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you!. Appreciate your help.

Here is the query I used. I used a wildcard, so they do not have to type
exact. i keep getting Microsoft Jet Engine does not recognize [Which
Department] as a valid field name or expresssion.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE ((([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Division) Like "*" & [Which Division] &
"*") AND (([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].Department) Like "*" & [Which
Department] & "*"))
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;


"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Try this --
TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
WHERE [Division] = [Which Division] AND [Department] = [Which Department]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Thank you,

I have listed the sql query below.

TRANSFORM Sum([Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].CountOfTimeSheetErrors) AS
SumOfCountOfTimeSheetErrors
SELECT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
FROM [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2]
GROUP BY [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].PerformanceSupervisor
PIVOT [Time Sheet Errors by PS 2].TimeSheetErrors;

I need to add the parameter [Which Division] and [Which Department]. I
added it intot the sql query but it gave me any error. Not sure where to add
the clause

"KARL DEWEY" wrote:

Your 'straight graph' pulls data via some SQL statement as does the crosstab
query. These can be edited to include parameters or better yet would be to
use a form with unbound text boxes for entering the parameters and refer to
the text boxes in the criteria of the SQL.

--
Build a little, test a little.


"Alaska1" wrote:

Is there a way to use Parameter in the Graphs in Access Reporting? I have a
straight graph and then graphs with cross tab queries?


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.