A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Access » General Discussion
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 19th, 2010, 10:04 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
ggregg
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 43
Default Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server

I wrote an Access 2007 program for a Company.
The Source Code is on one computer that has the full Access 2007 version.
I created a runtime and stored it on a Server for all other users to use.
I made the folder on the Server a Trusted Location.
Everyone who uses the runtime still gets the Security Message.
The User bought another version of Access 2007 and installed it on the Server.
I Trusted the folder again through the Server and the Security message still
comes up.
I checked the Registry Key and the Trusted Folder is set properly.
Does anyone have an idea why the runtime still produces the Security message?
Thank you

  #2  
Old March 19th, 2010, 10:14 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server

ggregg,

Umm, are you saying the database is not split? You should only have the
back end on the Server and the front ends should be on your Users local
drive in a Trusted Location. This goes for the Runtime or the full
version... is there a reason you didn't set it up that way?

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"ggregg" wrote in message
...
I wrote an Access 2007 program for a Company.
The Source Code is on one computer that has the full Access 2007 version.
I created a runtime and stored it on a Server for all other users to use.
I made the folder on the Server a Trusted Location.
Everyone who uses the runtime still gets the Security Message.
The User bought another version of Access 2007 and installed it on the
Server.
I Trusted the folder again through the Server and the Security message still
comes up.
I checked the Registry Key and the Trusted Folder is set properly.
Does anyone have an idea why the runtime still produces the Security
message?
Thank you

  #3  
Old March 19th, 2010, 10:18 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Jeff Boyce
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,621
Default Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server

A point of clarification ...

If all your users are hitting the same front-end (your MDE on a Server), you
run a much higher than necessary risk of corruption.

The standard scenario for a split application, whether using an MDE or not,
is to put the data on the Server, and to put a copy of the front-end ON EACH
DESKTOP. That way, each user uses his/her own separate connection to the
data.

Speaking from experience, setting trusted locations on each user's PC and
running the front-end from there has run into no "trust" issues.

Good luck!

Regards

Jeff Boyce
Microsoft Access MVP

--
Disclaimer: This author may have received products and services mentioned
in this post. Mention and/or description of a product or service herein
does not constitute endorsement thereof.

Any code or pseudocode included in this post is offered "as is", with no
guarantee as to suitability.

You can thank the FTC of the USA for making this disclaimer
possible/necessary.

"ggregg" wrote in message
...
I wrote an Access 2007 program for a Company.
The Source Code is on one computer that has the full Access 2007 version.
I created a runtime and stored it on a Server for all other users to use.
I made the folder on the Server a Trusted Location.
Everyone who uses the runtime still gets the Security Message.
The User bought another version of Access 2007 and installed it on the
Server.
I Trusted the folder again through the Server and the Security message
still
comes up.
I checked the Registry Key and the Trusted Folder is set properly.
Does anyone have an idea why the runtime still produces the Security
message?
Thank you



  #4  
Old March 20th, 2010, 12:13 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
ggregg
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 43
Default Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server

Thank you both for replying so fast.

I did split the database.
The source code is on one computer and I linked it to the data on the Server
Then I created the run time and put it on the server.
All other users have a shortcut to the runtime on the server

The part I was missing was putting the runtime on each users computer.
There are about 12 other users. I update the program remotely, so do I need
to update every computer with the runtime each time I do an update?
Or is there an easier way to do this?

  #5  
Old March 20th, 2010, 12:30 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
Gina Whipp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3,500
Default Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server

ggregg,

The easy way to update front-ends...

http://www.autofeupdater.com/

--
Gina Whipp
2010 Microsoft MVP (Access)

"I feel I have been denied critical, need to know, information!" - Tremors
II

http://www.regina-whipp.com/index_files/TipList.htm

"ggregg" wrote in message
...
Thank you both for replying so fast.

I did split the database.
The source code is on one computer and I linked it to the data on the Server
Then I created the run time and put it on the server.
All other users have a shortcut to the runtime on the server

The part I was missing was putting the runtime on each users computer.
There are about 12 other users. I update the program remotely, so do I need
to update every computer with the runtime each time I do an update?
Or is there an easier way to do this?

  #6  
Old March 20th, 2010, 01:01 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
John W. Vinson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 18,261
Default Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server

On Fri, 19 Mar 2010 17:13:01 -0700, ggregg
wrote:

The part I was missing was putting the runtime on each users computer.
There are about 12 other users. I update the program remotely, so do I need
to update every computer with the runtime each time I do an update?
Or is there an easier way to do this?


You only need to install the Access Runtime once on each user's computer. When
there's a new version of the frontend, you just need a new copy *of the
frontend mde file*; you do not need to reinstall the runtime msaccess.exe and
all its associated ddl files!

Gina has posted a link to a utility that makes this (pretty easy) task
downright painless.
--

John W. Vinson [MVP]
  #7  
Old March 20th, 2010, 02:58 AM posted to microsoft.public.access
ggregg
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 43
Default Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server

Thank you so much for the help
I really appreciate it.
I will definitely do all of the suggestions made


"ggregg" wrote:

Thank you both for replying so fast.

I did split the database.
The source code is on one computer and I linked it to the data on the Server
Then I created the run time and put it on the server.
All other users have a shortcut to the runtime on the server

The part I was missing was putting the runtime on each users computer.
There are about 12 other users. I update the program remotely, so do I need
to update every computer with the runtime each time I do an update?
Or is there an easier way to do this?

  #8  
Old March 20th, 2010, 01:47 PM posted to microsoft.public.access
Paul Shapiro
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 635
Default Access 2007 Trusted Location on a Server

"ggregg" wrote in message
...
I wrote an Access 2007 program for a Company.
The Source Code is on one computer that has the full Access 2007 version.
I created a runtime and stored it on a Server for all other users to use.
I made the folder on the Server a Trusted Location.
Everyone who uses the runtime still gets the Security Message.
The User bought another version of Access 2007 and installed it on the
Server.
I Trusted the folder again through the Server and the Security message
still
comes up.
I checked the Registry Key and the Trusted Folder is set properly.
Does anyone have an idea why the runtime still produces the Security
message?


Not entirely clear from your description, but every computer running the db
needs the location of its own copy of the frontend db setup as a trusted
location on that computer. The frontend should ideally be copied to each
local computer, but if it's running from a network location, that network
location needs to be trusted by the local computer. Each user should be
running a private copy of the frontend, not all sharing a single one, so
each computer would have a different trusted location if the frontend
continues to live on network locations.

You mentioned trusting the location through the Server. That would only
matter if Access was running on the server. Generally speaking, office
should not be installed on the server, unless it's a terminal server running
applications for multiple users.

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2024 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.