A Microsoft Office (Excel, Word) forum. OfficeFrustration

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » OfficeFrustration forum » Microsoft Powerpoint, Publisher and Visio » Visio
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 23rd, 2007, 03:11 AM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
niceguy1978
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

Dear MS staff:

I get this weird error with Visio 2003 when saving a visio file containing
a Microsoft equation editor object:

**************************************************
Visio internal error:#3400
Action 1004: Save
First try closing and reopening the file. Next try restarting Visio
**************************************************
Both the suggestions (closing and reopening, and restarting visio) do not
help.

More information regarding the problem:
1) This problem happens only when an equation editor object is present in
the visio file. I am able to save the visio file when I delete the equation
editor letters/objects.

2) I do not face this problem in a word file. So the problem, I think, is
only with visio and not with the equation editor.

3) I have reinstalled visio, but the problem remains

4) I have reinstalled the MSoffice 2003 and visio together. But the problem
still remains.

I am not able to find a solution to this problem in the web, though it has
been mentioned once in a website (lockergnome). I have wasted a lot of time
trying to fix this problem. I would appreciate any help in solving this
problem.

Sincerely,
lal


Ads
  #2  
Old December 31st, 2007, 05:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
Aaron Rykhus [MSFT]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 172
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

Does this happen on new/blank Visio drawings (File/New/New Drawing) with
new Equation Editor 3.0 object (Insert/Object.../Equation Editor 3.0) or
just existing drawings with existing equation editor objects?

Are the equations off the page at all, and onto the scratch area (gray
space)?

Are you using the service packs for Office 2003 and Visio 2003? (currently
service pack 3)



Best Regards,

Aaron Rykhus, MCP, MCDST
Online Support Engineer
Microsoft Corporation
----------------------------------------------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
  #3  
Old January 2nd, 2008, 07:21 PM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
niceguy1978
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

Dear Mr. Rhykhus,

Thanks for your reply. Let me answer your questions:
Question #1:
Does this happen on new/blank Visio drawings (File/New/New Drawing) with
new Equation Editor 3.0 object (Insert/Object.../Equation Editor 3.0) or
just existing drawings with existing equation editor objects?

Answer for Q#1: It happens whenever an equation editor object is
added to the visio file. The visio file can be a new one containing no
equation editor object at all or can be a old one already containing
an equation editor object. In the latter case, the file is created in power
point
with equation editor object and then later pasted in visio as a 'group';
i.e., as
an image in visio.

Question#2:
Are the equations off the page at all, and onto the scratch area (gray
space)?
Answer for Q#2: The equations are on the same page and on the figure
itself. For example, consider naming a specific part in the figure, such as
a node in a circuit, by a symbol, such as 'i'. You place this symbol close to
the specific part of the figure.

Question#3:
Are you using the service packs for Office 2003 and Visio 2003? (currently
service pack 3)
Answer for Q#3: I think I have them installed once I got this error. But I
will
check for this one more time.

I found a way to get around the problem, but I still would like to solve the
my problem.
Way around the problem:
1) Create the figure without any equation editor object in visio.
2) Copy the figure onto powerpoint.
3) Insert the equation editor object to the figure in powerpoint. There is
no problem in this.
4) Group the figure with equation editor objects in powerpoint and copy the
grouped item onto visio
5) Save as grouped item as a visio file or as any other file .tif as you like

I would appreciate if you could reply with your suggestions.

Sincerely,
niceguy

"Aaron Rykhus [MSFT]" wrote:

Does this happen on new/blank Visio drawings (File/New/New Drawing) with
new Equation Editor 3.0 object (Insert/Object.../Equation Editor 3.0) or
just existing drawings with existing equation editor objects?

Are the equations off the page at all, and onto the scratch area (gray
space)?

Are you using the service packs for Office 2003 and Visio 2003? (currently
service pack 3)



Best Regards,

Aaron Rykhus, MCP, MCDST
Online Support Engineer
Microsoft Corporation
----------------------------------------------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights

  #4  
Old January 3rd, 2008, 01:03 AM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
Aaron Rykhus [MSFT]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 172
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

Could you reply with an exact set of steps you take to get the error so I
can try to reproduce the problem on my end?


Best Regards,

Aaron Rykhus, MCP, MCDST
Online Support Engineer
Microsoft Corporation
----------------------------------------------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
  #5  
Old January 3rd, 2008, 01:33 AM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
niceguy1978
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

Dear Mr. Rykhus,

The following sequence of steps creates the error in my system:
1) Invoke visio2003 and create a new .vsd file
2) Put a visio object in the file. I had put a resistor (Basic Electrical
Engineering
diagram option in visio)
3) Save the visio file (Note: this save was successful for me)
4) Insert an equation editor object (Insert/Object/Microsoft Equation Editor/)
I added a symbol 'i' from the equation editor. The place in the figure
where
this symbol is added is not important.
5) Try saving this file now. I am not able to save the file now. Instead, I
get the
visio error at this time:
**************************************************
Visio internal error:#3400
Action 1004: Save
First try closing and reopening the file. Next try restarting Visio
**************************************************
Sincerely,
niceguy


  #6  
Old January 3rd, 2008, 07:37 PM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
Aaron Rykhus [MSFT]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 172
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

I still don't get the error when saving, based on your steps here's what I
did on my Windows XP machine:

1. Start Visio Professional 2003, click on the File menu, point to New,
click New Drawing (US Units)
2. Click on the File menu, point to Shapes, point to Electrical
Engineering, click Fundamental Items (US Units). Drag and drop a Resistor
shape from the Shapes window onto the middle of the page.
3. Click the File menu and click Save, Save in: My Documents, File name:
Test1, Save as type: Drawing (*.vsd), click the Save button.
4. Click on the Insert menu and click Object..., under 'Object type' click
Microsoft Equation 3.0, make sure Create new is selected and Display as
icon is unchecked. Click OK.
5. Click on Greek characters (uppercase), click I, click on the File menu,
and click Save.

The drawing saves without error.


In Visio, under the Help menu, click About Microsoft Office Visio. You
should see a number in parenthasis like (11.8161.8172) SP3. If you don't
see SP3, then you're not on any service pack. Also, confirm that you have
Equation Editor 3.1 by inserting a new Microsoft Equation, and clicking on
the Help menu and clicking About Microsoft Equation Editor.


Best Regards,

Aaron Rykhus, MCP, MCDST
Online Support Engineer
Microsoft Corporation
----------------------------------------------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
  #7  
Old June 25th, 2008, 07:46 PM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
Theresa Hardy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

Hello, I know this is an old post, but I was having this error as well. I
was linking external data (in Excel) to Visio shapes. It worked and saved
fine until I added a new row to my Excel file that had a negative value in
it. As soon as I took out the value in the Excel file it worked perfectly.



"Aaron Rykhus [MSFT]" wrote:

I still don't get the error when saving, based on your steps here's what I
did on my Windows XP machine:

1. Start Visio Professional 2003, click on the File menu, point to New,
click New Drawing (US Units)
2. Click on the File menu, point to Shapes, point to Electrical
Engineering, click Fundamental Items (US Units). Drag and drop a Resistor
shape from the Shapes window onto the middle of the page.
3. Click the File menu and click Save, Save in: My Documents, File name:
Test1, Save as type: Drawing (*.vsd), click the Save button.
4. Click on the Insert menu and click Object..., under 'Object type' click
Microsoft Equation 3.0, make sure Create new is selected and Display as
icon is unchecked. Click OK.
5. Click on Greek characters (uppercase), click I, click on the File menu,
and click Save.

The drawing saves without error.


In Visio, under the Help menu, click About Microsoft Office Visio. You
should see a number in parenthasis like (11.8161.8172) SP3. If you don't
see SP3, then you're not on any service pack. Also, confirm that you have
Equation Editor 3.1 by inserting a new Microsoft Equation, and clicking on
the Help menu and clicking About Microsoft Equation Editor.


Best Regards,

Aaron Rykhus, MCP, MCDST
Online Support Engineer
Microsoft Corporation
----------------------------------------------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights

  #8  
Old November 18th, 2008, 07:39 PM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
Alick LOk
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

Hello Mr, Rhykhus,

I tried to 'save as' a new file name I got error 'visio internal error
#3400' action 1005: Save As. By closing and re-openning and restarting visio
does not solve the problem. My get around: Made the change to the visio chart
and save (sa the same name).
---------------------
The other server boot error also getting the 'write delay error' resulting:
"to an an existing blade that has been up for a few months. We started
getting write delay errors and now the system hangs at the Windows splash
screen on boot."

So this is not just a visio 'write delay error' to visio only, rather I
syspect it is a Window design/engineering problem that should be escalated to
Microsoft Developer Team.

Many thanks

Alick Lok - SAN Storage Admin and Mainframe Systems Programmer.


"niceguy1978" wrote:

Dear Mr. Rhykhus,

Thanks for your reply. Let me answer your questions:
Question #1:
Does this happen on new/blank Visio drawings (File/New/New Drawing) with
new Equation Editor 3.0 object (Insert/Object.../Equation Editor 3.0) or
just existing drawings with existing equation editor objects?

Answer for Q#1: It happens whenever an equation editor object is
added to the visio file. The visio file can be a new one containing no
equation editor object at all or can be a old one already containing
an equation editor object. In the latter case, the file is created in power
point
with equation editor object and then later pasted in visio as a 'group';
i.e., as
an image in visio.

Question#2:
Are the equations off the page at all, and onto the scratch area (gray
space)?
Answer for Q#2: The equations are on the same page and on the figure
itself. For example, consider naming a specific part in the figure, such as
a node in a circuit, by a symbol, such as 'i'. You place this symbol close to
the specific part of the figure.

Question#3:
Are you using the service packs for Office 2003 and Visio 2003? (currently
service pack 3)
Answer for Q#3: I think I have them installed once I got this error. But I
will
check for this one more time.

I found a way to get around the problem, but I still would like to solve the
my problem.
Way around the problem:
1) Create the figure without any equation editor object in visio.
2) Copy the figure onto powerpoint.
3) Insert the equation editor object to the figure in powerpoint. There is
no problem in this.
4) Group the figure with equation editor objects in powerpoint and copy the
grouped item onto visio
5) Save as grouped item as a visio file or as any other file .tif as you like

I would appreciate if you could reply with your suggestions.

Sincerely,
niceguy

"Aaron Rykhus [MSFT]" wrote:

Does this happen on new/blank Visio drawings (File/New/New Drawing) with
new Equation Editor 3.0 object (Insert/Object.../Equation Editor 3.0) or
just existing drawings with existing equation editor objects?

Are the equations off the page at all, and onto the scratch area (gray
space)?

Are you using the service packs for Office 2003 and Visio 2003? (currently
service pack 3)



Best Regards,

Aaron Rykhus, MCP, MCDST
Online Support Engineer
Microsoft Corporation
----------------------------------------------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights

  #9  
Old November 22nd, 2008, 12:52 AM posted to microsoft.public.visio.general
Aaron Rykhus [MSFT]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 172
Default Visio Internal Error:#3400 Action 1004: Save

That error 3400 is a general OLE error. Hard to say what's going on without
actually seeing the file. Another thing you could try that I don't think
was mentioned was saving the file as an XML Drawing (*.vdx), if you can
save to that format it may have been corruption in the binary OLE data in
the file.

I'm not sure what you are referring to with the 'write delay error'
remarks, were you getting that anywhere while working in Visio?


Best Regards,

Aaron Rykhus, Visio Support
Microsoft Corporation
----------------------------------------------
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2014 OfficeFrustration.
The comments are property of their posters.